Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    glass radio panel ?

    hello fellow simmers,

    just a few questions

    1. is there any one out there who has tried to build a scaled glass radio panel from an lcd screen, then with a nice wooden frame over it you can put switches etc ?

    2. could fspanel studio be used like fsxpand, PM, etc. for purpose of a home cockpit?

    3. any new of that ( flythissim ) company and their products supporting FSX?

    regards

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: glass radio panel ?

    Fspanel studio can not be used over a network. However it can be used a on a second monitor on the flight sim machine. I used this combo for displaying the FS GPS in my supercub sim. If you are looking for a networked radio stack look into fsxpand. The last email I received from flythis sim was they were still working on making there software compatible with FS. I do recall a set of free ware gauges that can be used over a network that might have a radio stack. When I get home from work I will try to find you a link.
    Mike G.

  3. Thanks 360kal thanked for this post
  4. #3
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: glass radio panel ?

    Unfortunaley I was thinking there was a freeware radiostack that could be run over a network but I was thinking of PEIX but they are not free. There is fsnightngale but they do not have a radiostack and im not sure they are planning one. I highley recommend fsxpand for the minimal investment youwill get not only a radiostack but lots more. You can try the time limited demo before you buy.
    Mike G.

  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie Cessna172sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ylöjärvi, Finland
    Posts
    171
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: glass radio panel ?

    Hi,

    Our radio stack is made exactly like this. One sideways tilted LCD display with G430 GPS, ADF, transponder and autopilot. Also we have extra LCD for G530, mut this is not necessary. The software behind the hardware is Reality XP Waas:
    http://www.reality-xp.com/profession...aas/index.html

    The push buttons are programmed via Reality XP software and the encoders are using IOcards electronics. This setup works flawlessly. All parts are home made:
    http://www.lentosimulaattori.1g.fi/k...-+Spring+2010/

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ocpft...el_video_title

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U-5Dy...feature=relmfu

  6. #5
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: glass radio panel ?

    Vector, I have been reading through (quickly) the Reality-xp link you provided. I have seen and even contacted Reality in the past. I did not see if the Reality-xp software was able to run on a networked PC separate from the Flight Sim PC. I emailed this question to Reality-xp a long time ago and was told that it might be implemented in the future. Has Reality-xp done this? I would be very interested as I am sure others would be if Realty-xp could be used over a network. Thanks
    Mike G.

  7. Thanks 360kal thanked for this post
  8. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie Cessna172sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ylöjärvi, Finland
    Posts
    171
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: glass radio panel ?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackWidow View Post
    Vector, I have been reading through (quickly) the Reality-xp link you provided. I have seen and even contacted Reality in the past. I did not see if the Reality-xp software was able to run on a networked PC separate from the Flight Sim PC. I emailed this question to Reality-xp a long time ago and was told that it might be implemented in the future. Has Reality-xp done this? I would be very interested as I am sure others would be if Realty-xp could be used over a network. Thanks
    Hi,
    I don't know if it is possible either. We only use one basic home computer to run everything (apart from IVAO programs) that are running via wideFS in another computer.

  9. Thanks 360kal thanked for this post
  10. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: glass radio panel ?

    I think you mean what I'm doing now. I did a first version on my first MIP but wanted to add some more realism. Here's a couple of pics. The middle one is the original and all the buttons/switches functioned. The new one (pictured) has a G530 installed. I've verified complete functionality of all the controls via FSUIPC. There is still have a couple of cuts to make in the MIP before paint and final assembly. BTW, the 530 was a freeware download.
    John
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. Thanks 360kal thanked for this post
  12. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie Cessna172sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ylöjärvi, Finland
    Posts
    171
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: glass radio panel ?

    Hi,

    I have all home made PCB layouts, component lists, etc. ready and free to share.
    The main purpose is to make the avionics building as easy as possible.
    Feel free to send me email: robots@jippii.fi

    This way I can send you the part list, PCB-layouts, etc.

    BR,
    OP

  13. Thanks 360kal thanked for this post
  14. #9
    300+ Forum Addict skino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    349
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: glass radio panel ?

    "...2. could fspanel studio be used like fsxpand, PM, etc. for purpose of a home cockpit?..."

    Yes, if one of the monitors of the network computer connect with Zonescreen or MaxiVista as a "virtual" monitor.
    Zonescreen: http://www.zoneos.com/zonescreen.htm
    Maxivista: http://www.maxivista.com/

  15. Thanks 360kal, BlackWidow thanked for this post
  16. #10
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: glass radio panel ?

    i like your set up type of thing am after i hope to include toggle switches and 5 position magneto but that's had to find unless i can build one but again i have got limited very tool

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Glass Panel For A320
    By simulatorpilot in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2010, 01:20 PM
  2. Choices: Saitek radio panel or GoFlight Radio Panel...
    By Tim Abbott in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 02:43 AM
  3. Radio Panel
    By jsfboat in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 08:56 AM
  4. Radio panel! help me with parts etc.
    By Xoder in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-25-2009, 11:49 PM
  5. build a GA glass panel for less than $300!
    By jabomeister in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-17-2008, 05:34 AM