Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 65
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    635
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    "Inner Circle" HSI - SIOC DC Motors Card Script

    Hi everyone,

    I need some advice on how to build a SIOC script for the "Inner Circle" of my HSI.

    This Circle is not the rotating compass card, but the inner needle that points to a VOR station and that moves according to the aircraft's heading.

    The HSI is equipped with DC Motors, and is also equipped with Potentiometers for feedback (although I'm still finalising detils of these potentiometers).

    So, I need a script that incorporates Motors, feedback and the FSUIPC Offset for the Inner Circle of a HSI. I cannot find anywhere to start; as all the scripts I can see are for Stepper Motors.

    I *think* the Potentiometers go from like 0-5K Ohms, then when they reach the 0/360 (North) heading they reset back to 0.

    If some-one could help me, point me in the direction of a script that I can modify, or anything else, I would be most grateful.

    Kindest regards,

    Jack

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member crashdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    swizerland
    Posts
    42
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Inner Circle" HSI - SIOC DC Motors Card Script

    Hi Jack,
    if I understand you right, you are trying to move the nav1 localizer needle ? You can get the value from the fsuipc offset $0C48. Then you need to calibrate the potentio meter. Means you have to find out where the middle and the right and left extremes are. As well as calculating the pot-values to be equal to the nav-needle values or the other way around. (That depends on your preference). The nav-needle's value range is -127 to 127. Then you need to programm the motor movement according to the pot's position vs. the nav1-needle position. If you're using OC card's analogue input, it's 8-bit so the values will allready be close to those of the nav-needle.
    I do have a sioc dc motor code example for an airspeed indicator on my homepage : http://www.md80.ch/index.php?option=...d=82&Itemid=72
    Basically it's the same principal for the nav-needle.

    Hope this helps you
    Kind Regards,

    Gery

  3. Thanks Boeing 747 Flyer thanked for this post
  4. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    635
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Inner Circle" HSI - SIOC DC Motors Card Script

    Thank you very much Gery!

    I understood most of that.

    Also; thank you very much for the localiser offset. I was, in fact, trying to use Offset 04CE, the NAV1 Course Indicator. This ranges from 0-359 degrees. Does this change anything?

    Also, please may you expand a little on the scaling and the "8-bit" sort of things?

    Jack

  5. #4
    25+ Posting Member crashdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    swizerland
    Posts
    42
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Inner Circle" HSI - SIOC DC Motors Card Script

    HI Jack,
    the nav1 course is the compass and the nav1 localizer indicator is the needle that shows if your're left or righ off the selected course.

    When it comes to the scaling there's not much too it. You will want to use simmilar values for the pot and the needle. So you need to find a factor for either one of them so that you get simmilar values. If you look at the airpseed indicator example you see that I devided dc_in_mo4 / 61. dc_in_mo4 is here the pot-value for the airspeed needle. If I devide it by 61 in this case I get values from 70 to 250 in stead of 4270 to 14250 (which is the pot's native resolution using the bodnar cards as input (12 bit resolution)). The OC cards have a 8-bit input resolution which gives you a potentiometer native values from 0 - 255.

    Regards,
    Gery

    (pot = potentiometer.)

  6. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    635
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Inner Circle" HSI - SIOC DC Motors Card Script

    Hi Gery,

    I definitely understood most of that!

    So what you're saying is, you need to divide the FSUIPC range to get it down to a figure of, lets say 70-250 (or whatever the native resolution is).

    How can I do this for the Offset $04CE (NAV1 Course) though? It has a range from 0-359, with a length of 2 Bytes. This would have to be divided by something like 1.X surely?

    Jack

  7. #6
    25+ Posting Member crashdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    swizerland
    Posts
    42
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Inner Circle" HSI - SIOC DC Motors Card Script

    Hi Jack,
    yes, but the nav1 course will probably not work with a potentiometer since it's 360 degrees. A potentiometer even if the mechanical range is 360 degrees always has a dead zone. It's most likely that your HSI has syncros not pots for the course position. So far I have not seen any one make a card that can handle syncros. So the only way to do the course is to modify the HSI and excange the DC motor with a stepper motor.

    Gery

    Gery

  8. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    635
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Inner Circle" HSI - SIOC DC Motors Card Script

    Hi Gery,

    The HSI uses three pots per motor. Each Pot covers approximately 120 degrees, thus making up the full circle. They are definitely DC Motors and the Potentiometers are definitely potentiometers.

    So, I'll need to scale and script three potentiometers, each covering a different range of offset 04CE.

    Jack

  9. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    635
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Inner Circle" HSI - SIOC DC Motors Card Script

    Hi everyone,

    I have written myself a small test script; it does not require FSUIPC or anything; it just rotates the motors when Var0000 is executed. Take a look:

    Code:
    Var 0, Value 0
    {
     &Motor_2 = 120
     &Motor_3 = 120
     &Motor_4 = 120
     &Motor_6 = 120
    }
    
    Var 0001, name Motor_1, Link USB_DCMOTOR, Output 1
    
    Var 0002, name Motor_2, Link USB_DCMOTOR, Output 2
    
    Var 0003, name Motor_3, Link USB_DCMOTOR, Output 3
    
    Var 0004, name Motor_4, Link USB_DCMOTOR, Output 4
    
    Var 0005, name Motor_5, Link USB_DCMOTOR, Output 5
    
    Var 0006, name Motor_6, Link USB_DCMOTOR, Output 6
    
    Var 0010, name A1, Link USB_ANALOGIC, Input 1, PosL 0, PosC 127, PosR 255
    
    Var 0011, name A2, Link USB_ANALOGIC, Input 2, PosL 0, PosC 127, PosR 255
    
    Var 0012, name A3, Link USB_ANALOGIC, Input 3, PosL 0, PosC 127, PosR 255
    
    Var 0013, name A4, Link USB_ANALOGIC, Input 4, PosL 0, PosC 127, PosR 255
    
    Var 25, name Bar_GS
    {
     IF &A3 <= 150
     {
      &Motor_1 = 120
      &Motor_5 = 250
     }
      ELSE
      {
       &Motor_1 = 250
       &Motor_5 = 120
      }
    }
    As you can see, Motors 1 and 5 are meant to rotates according to the position of potentiometer AD3. However, when the script is run... They just stand still. AD3 is DEFINITELY working (I have tested in controlador.exe) and it runs through 0-255 values without any problems.

    Any ideas? Have I defined something wrong?

    Jack

  10. #9
    25+ Posting Member crashdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    swizerland
    Posts
    42
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Inner Circle" HSI - SIOC DC Motors Card Script

    Hi Jack,
    have you looked at the console ? you should be able to see the contents of the variables there.
    I'm not 100% sure but I think var0 is only executed once. You probably need a function and a timer to call the function.
    A very good site with some examles: http://www.lekseecon.nl/howto.html

    Gery

  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    635
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Inner Circle" HSI - SIOC DC Motors Card Script

    HI Gery,

    I found the problem. According to the log, the Pots are not recognised at all.

    This is my SIOC.ini:

    Code:
    [SIOC]
    IOCP_port=8092
    IOCP_timeout=4000
    Minimized=Yes
    toggle_delay=20
    CONFIG_FILE=Motor_tests.ssi
    
    [IOCARDS MODULE]
    IOCard_disable=No
    IOCard_LPT=No
    
    [USBKEYS]
    USBKeys=0,13
    
    [USBDCMOTORS]
    USBDCmotor=0,38
    
    [MASTERS]
    ;MASTER=1,7,1,1001
    ;MASTER=2,5,1,1002
    MASTER=3,11,1,48
    ;MASTER=5,8,1,1005
    MASTER=0,4,1,12
    MASTER=2,5,1,50
    
    [USBKEYS]
    USBKeys=4,67
    
    [A/D USED MASTER]
    USB_AD=4
    
    [MULTIPLE]
    MUSB=Yes
    
    [USBSERVOS]
    USBSERVOS=0,4
    deviceUSB=2132
    
    [FSUIPC MODULE]
    FSUipcdisable=No
    FSUipcRefresh=50
    
    [IOCP CLIENTS MODULES]
    IOCPini_delay=3000
    IOCPclient0_disable=Yes
    IOCPclient0_host=localhost
    IOCPclient0_port=8090
    IOCPclient1_disable=Yes
    IOCPclient1_host=localhost
    IOCPclient1_port=8099
    
    [SOUND MODULE]
    Sound_disable=NO
    Volume=100
    And the script (you have below).

    Also, yes Var0 is only executed once. Var 0 will set the 4 motors moving, and the other 2 are dependant upon the position of the pots, which are not recognised.

    Jack

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. DC Motors Card - How to use in SIOC?
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-20-2017, 09:11 PM
  2. Expansion card buggy? Shows "ghost" inputs where there aren't...
    By Michael737NG in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-26-2010, 07:02 AM
  3. SIOC "IF" Question
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 89
    Last Post: 08-29-2010, 05:34 PM
  4. FSX "This graphics card does not meet minimum ..." HELP !!!!
    By ibennett in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-12-2010, 09:46 PM
  5. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-05-2008, 12:39 PM