Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tholen, Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    MIP Panels question!

    Hi everyone,

    This is my first post on this great forum.

    I have started to build a 737pit. I allready have CPflight MCP,EFIS,NAV,COMM and XPNDR modules to use with Project Magenta.
    Now i will make the MIP from 8mm MDF, but i still dont know what Panels to put in the MIP like autobrakepanels,displaypanels etc. I want them to connect to the MCP via the MCPEX board because i think thats the easiest way, but maybe you guys have other suggestions?

    I am not an electrician, unless there is a very clearly manual with it!

    I hope you guys can help me to choose the panels!

    Regards,

    Corne

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MIP Panels question!

    It's the MIP737 board you need, not the MCPEX1. The instructions and wiring are really simple if you take your time. It can be downloaded at CPFlights website, I'd recommend reading it.

    There aren't that many panels on the MIP itself, so start with the one you'll use the most and maybe add the others later. eg, you'll use the autobrake twice every flight, but you'll never use the display switchpanel.

    Sean

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tholen, Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MIP Panels question!

    Thanks Sean for your answer!
    Im starting with the Autobrake panel. I have seen it from Hispapanels is that ''easy'' to build? Can i connect that to the MIPboard?
    The panels from CPflight are to expensive for me!

    Regards

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MIP Panels question!

    Hi Corne

    I dont have any experience with Hispapanels, so I cant really comment on whether their PCB's are compatible with the CPFlight MIP737 interface board. But if you buy the just the panel and use your own switches and LED's, which you need to buy anyway, then they will connect easily to the CPFlight board.

    I notice the Hispapanel PCB's have backlighting, which you'd have to consider seperately if you just bought the panel alone. The MIP737 from CPFlight doesn't handle backlighting.

    I'm not sure what interface boards the Hispapanels are designed to work with.

    Sean

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tholen, Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MIP Panels question!

    Ok, so i can buy switches and LED's and can connect them direct to the MIP737 Interface board?
    And when i want backlighting can i connect that seperatly?

    Thanks for your help Sean!!

    Regards

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MIP Panels question!

    Yes, switches and LEDs are wired directly to the appropriate connectors on the MIP737 board. No resistors are required for the LEDs, as they are on the interface board.

    And there's no programming to do, as the board is programmed for all the MIP functions already.

    Backlighting is wired seperately from the MIP737 board. In simple terms, it's a seperate power supply feeding the LEDs or whatever else provides the backlighting to your panels. It can be ran through a dimmer if required.

    That's the CPFlight way of doing things. You already have the MCP, so the MIP737 is just plugged into that.

    As I said earlier, I have no experience with Hispapanels, so their PCB panels may be equally as good for your needs, you need to research that for yourself.

    Happy to help.

    Sean

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tholen, Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MIP Panels question!

    My plan is to buy only the panels, (without PCB) and the components from HISPApanels, and then manually connect them to to CPflight's MIP737 interface board. Does anyone knows if that will work? I have contacted HISPApanels already and they dont know!

    Corne

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MIP Panels question!

    It should be fine. Did you read the MIP737 manual? It recommends using high efficiency LED's. It also recommends testing different LED's, so you may want to hold off buying the full set until youn know they'll be suitable.

    An alternative would be to get the switches and LED's from a local electronics store. They may even be cheaper and you can ask the staff for advice.

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tholen, Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MIP Panels question!

    Sean, saturday i start building the MIP stand, then it all starts
    Now i have another question! How do i fit rotary switches onto MIPpanels for the Autobrake,Vspeed etc? Does someone know if there is a tutorial for it or a picture to show me how to fit it?

    Regards

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MIP Panels question!

    I have no experience with the Hispapanels, and it's difficult to see in the photograph on their website, but usually the rotary switch (applies to other switches too) fixes to whatever you are fixing the panel to, the MIP stand if you like. Therefore this needs to be thin enough for the thread on the switch to protrude enough to get the nut on. The panels then fit over the shaft of the switch, with the nut sittings neatly in the hole.

    Hope you can understand that. If not, I'll take a picture.

    Sean

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. some panels
    By flatlandpilot in forum CNC Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 07:18 AM
  2. Airbus Panels Question
    By Buddym in forum Dodiano's Airbus Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-13-2009, 03:39 AM
  3. Newb question again Overhead Panels
    By 737NGDriver in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-18-2008, 06:46 AM
  4. panels.. panels GA & Heli
    By Jackpilot in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-01-2008, 05:01 PM