Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ace 737 yoke

  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member


    Clive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Newcastle Upon Tyne UK
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ace 737 yoke

    Hi I have a few questions relating to the Ace 737 Yoke ... I have a full scale 737 -800 cockpit and would like to install Ace Yokes ... at present I have 2 x CH Product yokes sitting on top of steel columns of around the correct diamiter. I am also using CH Rudder pedals and Jaguar XK seats.... my worry is that the current seats and rudders wont be compatible...there not being a slot in the seat!

    Has anyone out there any experience of these issues???

    Clive

    PS Short of cash and can't justify new seats and pedals

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Ace 737 yoke

    Hi Clive,

    I had a similar problem - got an Ace yoke and CH pedals and the issue I found was that because of the size of the Ace yoke base if I put the CH pedals flat on the floor behind the yoke base I wasn't going to be able to reach them comfortably. What I had to do was make a platform and sit the pedals on that which raised them above the base unit and allowed them to be a bit closer. Haven't currently got an issue with the seat as I have a homemade seat with the cut-out but without the cutout the yoke would have to be even further away to allow for the movement and then the pedals would have been further away too.

    The Ace yoke is a great piece of kit so I would recommend it and work a way round any problems you then encounter...

    Cheers
    Mike

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Ace 737 yoke

    Quote Originally Posted by Clive View Post
    Hi I have a few questions relating to the Ace 737 Yoke ... I have a full scale 737 -800 cockpit and would like to install Ace Yokes ... at present I have 2 x CH Product yokes sitting on top of steel columns of around the correct diamiter. I am also using CH Rudder pedals and Jaguar XK seats.... my worry is that the current seats and rudders wont be compatible...there not being a slot in the seat!

    Has anyone out there any experience of these issues???

    Clive

    PS Short of cash and can't justify new seats and pedals
    Sorry I don't have an answer to your problem, but I have the same questions

    You see I am in the same position as you Clive, in fact I have two CH Eclipse yokes on columns as you, which have the rudders on the thumbs, and eventhough I have no negative thinkings in purchasing the ACE yokes (1 CPT & 1 FO), which will cost no less than 2000 euro including shipping and Customs duties, my worries exist because of the rudders, because I then have to build or buy two sets of rudders that can fit in front of the ACE yokes.

    So I am totaly interested in this thread.


  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Ace 737 yoke

    Hey Clive, you'll need to upgrade your seats...

    http://www.flypfc.com/index.php?m_id=1&d_id=23

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    243
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Ace 737 yoke

    Hello I used to have a very similar settup as yours and also got the ace yoke. Like Mike, I also built a base for the rudder peddals and that worked really well. I still have a regular car seat and even tho is not ideal it works for me. I'm not to worried about it for now. Eventually I'll get a seat with the cutout. I wouldn't let the seat stop you from getting it, i think it works ok and it's something you can upgrade to later on. The yoke is a well worth upgrade!

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Ace 737 yoke

    Hi,

    I had the CH Pro Pedals before, but when installed the excellent ACE yoke they do not fit well so I bought new SAITEK pedals - those will fit excellently if you just cut off their inner corners a bit.

    As a side benefit - the SAITEKs are far better than the old CH pedals.

    Cutout in the chair is good to have if your legs are a bit short, but usually not necessary.

    Best,
    Bjorn

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member


    Clive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Newcastle Upon Tyne UK
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Ace 737 yoke

    Hi Bjorn

    the Saitek pedals you refer to ... are these the new aluminum ones described as fighter rudders?

    Clive

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Ace 737 yoke

    Quote Originally Posted by Clive View Post
    Hi Bjorn

    the Saitek pedals you refer to ... are these the new aluminum ones described as fighter rudders?

    Clive
    No, I have the standard SAITEKs.

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member


    Clive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Newcastle Upon Tyne UK
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Ace 737 yoke

    Hi Guys thanks for all the input and thanks to Ali at Ace for his prompt answers to my questions... as a result I have ordered my captains yoke! and I cant wait to get it!!

    Clive

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Ace 737 yoke

    I took a brief look at the "Combat" Pedals.
    Most likely they will be ok too, but you need to cut away the "floor" between the pedals. It seems that they are slightly wider too which would be good - you can maybe check with Saitek.

Similar Threads

  1. Cessna Yoke Column - Yoke Movement ?
    By Ronson2k9 in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2010, 01:09 PM
  2. Which yoke to buy...?
    By pilotwannabe in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-25-2010, 03:32 PM
  3. Ace Yoke
    By Mac in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-10-2009, 05:07 PM
  4. 737 Yoke
    By ian@737ng.co.uk in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-09-2008, 10:31 AM
  5. 737(ng) Yoke??
    By Geremy Britton in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2007, 10:47 AM