Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Is Sioc required?

    Hello all

    Im working on the Jetstream 41 and by reading some very interesting posts I got a bit confused.
    Basically I just ordered a OC Master and Exp. card, just to start and make tests. Rest will follow. What I dont understand is what I need Sioc for?
    Example, maybe I understand something wrong.
    Lets take the beloved one, the gear lever. By raising the gear, I change the input from 1 to 0, so basically, I need one input for this. As output, I endup maybe using 3, 1 output for each gear indicator light. Am I correct?

    So 1st question is, what do I need Sioc for?
    2) How does FSUIPC react, when suddenly 2 or 3 variables change state at the same time? How can I find out which output belongs to which?

    Thanks in advance!!!

    Cheers, Omar.

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Is Sioc required?

    Hi,

    Why you need SIOC?

    Well, on the one hand you have a Opencockpits Master Card that connects your hardware via in- and outputs and on the other hand you have FSUIPC which provides a software interface to Flight Simulator. You need SIOC to connect these two worlds...

    Example: If you raise the Gear, an input changes value which is detected by SIOC. In SIOC you program a script that modifies a FSUIPC offset based on that input change. These scripts are very simple, just one liners, but without, nothing will happen.

    More info about SIOC can be found at my site. Plus lots of HowTo SIOC examples.

    Your second question about FSUIPC:
    FSUIPC will just do for each offset what is specified in its documentation (FSUIPC for Programmers). It is you that defines the logic in your SIOC program.

    regards,
    Nico Kaan
    Last edited by kiek; 03-23-2011 at 07:37 AM.

  3. #3
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Is Sioc required?

    Hi Nico

    Many thx for ur reply. I thought that FSUIPC detects the status changes directly without needing SIOC in between. Now things become clear..
    Ok, one more question, just to feel safe

    Since im building a non-standard aircraft, there will most probably be inputs/outputs that arent found in FSUIPC. Im talking about the offsets.
    Do u know how I can connect these signals to the software?

    Omar.

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Is Sioc required?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sulfuridus View Post
    Since im building a non-standard aircraft, there will most probably be inputs/outputs that arent found in FSUIPC. Im talking about the offsets.
    Do u know how I can connect these signals to the software?
    That is a common problem for add-on aircrafts. Only the generic parts are covered by FSUIPC offsets.
    With FSUIPC mouse macro's you may be able to interface switches to controls in your aircraft, but the other way round, deriving state information from your aircraft to control leds/digits and so on, is very dificult (or even impossible)l.

    You better switch to an add-on with a SDK (the Level-D 767)

    Nico

Similar Threads

  1. offset help required if possible.
    By flyboy01 in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-15-2009, 08:43 AM
  2. Annunciator labels required
    By Paul G in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-22-2007, 06:42 AM
  3. PC help required!
    By Westozy in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-14-2005, 01:34 PM
  4. 767 Throttle Drawings Required
    By bowingic in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-03-2005, 04:51 AM

Tags for this Thread