Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member TobiBS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Airbus Setting up the display in the ADIRS panel

    A simcockpit can never be too accurate, you agree? THerefore I decided to make a LCD for the overhead into the ADIRS panel. You might know how it looks there if it is fully wired from FDS:


    From the front you can see that FDS already provided some mounting holes, maybe because they want to sell a complete board for this place one day:


    But this is not available today so I had to do something on my own. Displays can be found a lot, you need a 1x16 Characters display, best would be white on black, but I only found white on blue as the best approximation:


    On the other hand you need an interface and fortunately I found a complete solution for standard LCDs: http://www.avr-projekte.de/usblcd2.htm
    The website is german, but the design is still usable though. If you need help, you can also ask me.

    I redesigned the board to fit exactly behind our display and make it as small as possible. The last part was now to write a pieace of software as an interface between FSUIPC and the board. It has all modes, but because I did not configure the switches in the ADIRS panel right now, it is fixed to PPOS output. Maybe the design is also interesting for Boeing pilots, as I think it is nearly the same display and technique there.

    The result looks like this:


    Do you like it, any ideas how to improve or any questions regarding design and production?

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    zurich
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Setting up the display in the ADIRS panel

    Hey TobiBS

    Have you used (or thought about using) the same approach for the LCD in the rudder trim panel?

    Best regards

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member TobiBS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Setting up the display in the ADIRS panel

    Quote Originally Posted by dufour01 View Post
    Have you used (or thought about using) the same approach for the LCD in the rudder trim panel?
    No, until now I did not fit out this display, but I would not use a LCD for this one, because LCDs have too much numbers and therefore do not fit and it is easier to do it with e.g. 14 segment displays:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fourteen-segment_display

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    zurich
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Setting up the display in the ADIRS panel

    Indeed, probably easier. Any ideas, how to interface it in software? I haven't found anything on the internet yet for this.

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member TobiBS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Setting up the display in the ADIRS panel

    Quote Originally Posted by dufour01 View Post
    Indeed, probably easier. Any ideas, how to interface it in software? I haven't found anything on the internet yet for this.
    My approach with these parts was always to develop something on my own. I did this for the brake pressure indicator as well and we are doing this in other areas as well. Shouldn't be that hard, because it is a one way device.

  6. #6

    Re: Setting up the display in the ADIRS panel

    thnaks for your post

    -

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Weston, FL, USA
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Setting up the display in the ADIRS panel

    Thank you Toby for that excellent Thread. I am going to do it on my 737NG.

    My question is : what software did you use to interface ?

    Thank you

    Axel from stormy Florida

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member TobiBS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Setting up the display in the ADIRS panel

    Quote Originally Posted by N737AG View Post
    Thank you Toby for that excellent Thread. I am going to do it on my 737NG.
    Thanks, I like to hear that, the forum is a great pool of ideas and as much as it inspired me, I hope to inspire others.

    Quote Originally Posted by N737AG View Post
    My question is : what software did you use to interface ?
    I wrote one on my own, it was rather easy, but as I was using specific interfaces to our cockpit software this one can not be reused. I was thinking about writing a software for others, but had no time until now.

Similar Threads

  1. IO Cards Problem setting up Display Card on Master Card
    By Barrykensett in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-02-2009, 02:30 PM
  2. Remote panel display - on the cheap?
    By IanH1960 in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-20-2008, 04:02 PM
  3. Rudder Trim Display panel
    By AchillesP in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2008, 09:11 AM
  4. Display Format for Wind Direction on the ADIRS?
    By Suggy in forum Dodiano's Airbus Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-04-2007, 11:44 AM
  5. Glass Cockpit Display Setting via Offset
    By luker in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-12-2006, 03:27 AM