Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    ca
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    is the wx radar fully functional in all panels

    just wondering if the wx radar is fully functional as in its' real world counterpart?

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: is the wx radar fully functional in all panels

    No.

    What you will see when choosing wxr on the EFIS controller is an overlayed satellite picture in ND providing you have pmGetWeather installed and the link to the sat pics is working which is not the case for Europe.

    To get a better wx radar you need to find the discontinued SA_WXR program by Florian Paxmayer.
    Simulates Collins 2100 radar incl. all modes and antenna tilt.
    Bases its radar pic on actual FS9 weather and not on sat pics.

    Best,
    Bjorn

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: is the wx radar fully functional in all panels

    Hello Bjorn

    do you know if SA_WXR was compatible with FSX also?
    As it is dicontinued is it anywhere available for download ?

    Regards

    Eddie
    Eddie Armaos
    Athens-Greece


    [

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: is the wx radar fully functional in all panels

    I only use FS9 so not 100% sure, but I believe it should work with FSX/PM too.
    Also no idea where it can be downloaded.

    Best,
    Bjorn

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    136
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: is the wx radar fully functional in all panels

    Quote Originally Posted by oal331 View Post
    Hello Bjorn

    do you know if SA_WXR was compatible with FSX also?
    As it is dicontinued is it anywhere available for download ?

    Regards

    Eddie
    Eddie,
    I tryed to search the internet for Sa_wxr for some time,--nothing found
    Let us know if you will have more luck

    Regards
    Joseph

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    ca
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: is the wx radar fully functional in all panels

    Quote Originally Posted by saabpilot View Post
    No.

    What you will see when choosing wxr on the EFIS controller is an overlayed satellite picture in ND providing you have pmGetWeather installed and the link to the sat pics is working which is not the case for Europe.

    To get a better wx radar you need to find the discontinued SA_WXR program by Florian Paxmayer.
    Simulates Collins 2100 radar incl. all modes and antenna tilt.
    Bases its radar pic on actual FS9 weather and not on sat pics.

    Best,
    Bjorn



    Thanks much Bjorn, I feared just as much. I find the satellite overlay a poor excuse for the real thing.The Collins 2100 is what Capt. Sim. puts with their B757 package. I'll try to see if I can find the freeware that you mentioned. Lets face it , FS9 or FSX lacks in one area and that is WX radar. Many users don't understand what a proper wx radar return looks like. Of course, no fault of there own.

    Happy flying,

    Brett

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    255
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: is the wx radar fully functional in all panels

    Realityxp sells a Bendix King IN-2026A look alike.

    Works just like the real thing.I have been wondering though,, if it will map lakes like a real radar. i've just tried it out a little and it picks up thunderstorms very well.

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: is the wx radar fully functional in all panels

    If I am not mistaken the Reality XP radar is a "gauge" and cannot be overlayed an ND driven from a network client. (PM or ProSim)

    A gauge is only meant to complement your aircrafts "panel" in the FS computer, and can not be activated from e.g. a hardware EFIS controller or controlled by a hardware radar panel.

    Bjorn

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    136
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: is the wx radar fully functional in all panels

    Well , Bjorn--that is a gauge and cant be overlayed on ND , but hardware support provided by developers and even may be even triggerted by efis button with some assighments changes
    Of course will have to run on FS computer on additional monitor

    Regards

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    255
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: is the wx radar fully functional in all panels

    I have all buttons working properly on the realityxp radar using the Bodnar card ,some momentary push buttons and some rotary encoders.

    I have used real wx radars and I can tell you this one works very much like the real thing.

    I have the radar gauge overlaid on the main panel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Opencockpit MCP segments wont fully display
    By Bassam45 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 02:35 PM
  2. COPPERCAM DID NOT FULLY GENERATE G CODE!!!HELP NEEDED!!!
    By switimira in forum CNC Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2010, 08:53 AM
  3. Functional Boeing clock
    By Jackpilot in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-19-2009, 06:45 PM
  4. Got my network and PM fully working at last!
    By David Rogers in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-19-2007, 06:26 PM