Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question to the group

    New to the group so I'm trying to read as many posts as i can. 2 questions for you...
    1. Has anyone dealt with Desktop Aviator or use their products? Their prices seem good but just wondering if it is a reliable company.
    2. I'm just in the planning stages of making a GA cockpit and by looking at the prices of working gauges they will be put on hold for a bit. I want to print the gauges for my MIP nad glue them on (life size) with maybe some backlight behind. Has anyone done this? Obviously the gauges won't work but it will give the look and feel until money becomes available to switch them out with working gauges

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question to the group

    I started my put with desktop aviator gear, and would be happy to answer questions about them. Specifically I would recommend the 1010E for a beginning. It has all of your electrical panel including a keyed 5 position ignition switch in one unit. I was able to fly with it right away, until I figured out my next step. Once I decided to build a full panel, I was easily able to salvage the switches and the controller card to serve the same function in my panel.

    Shipping was fast, and they have a very inactive group on yahoo for basic support. Steve was always good at returning emails, although he speaks "electronics" at a higher level than I needed to start.

    Which units are you thinking about?

    Reid
    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question to the group

    i was thinking about the USB junction box 2130 and the rotary encoder to start. I want to make my own switch setup for lights and such. Their switches seem to be very well priced. Under a dollar while a local electronics store where I live is charging $5.

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question to the group

    I don't have any experience with the 2130. Another suggestion might be to look at the Leo Bodnar BUO836x card. With one card you get 32 inputs that can also be configured as rotary encoders. (rotaries take up 2 inputs. You can do a combination of switches and rotaries on the same card). This card is very well supported here and is as easy as plugging in a joystick. It is also cheaper, although it took 30 days to show up via the economy shipping from the UK. I have one of these and highly recommend it.

    Reid
    Last edited by AK Mongo; 03-01-2011 at 09:05 PM. Reason: Stupid iPhone spelling correct!
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question to the group

    I second that of what Reid has said. Ask Leo to send you one of his boards such as the BU0836x. He doesnt ask for very much money at all and you get the best joystick interface in the DIY sim industry to day (in my view). Although I have owned DA gear before (it is really good), I would always go for Leo's cards because they are so easy to use, and easy to build into your sim. They really are plug and play cards, and being from the UK I get them within 24 hours sometimes.....plus Leo is a top man!
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question to the group

    Good...I think you have me sold. I'm not great with electronics so is it easy to use? Not that it matters because I'm going to order 1 or 2. I checked his site out and read a bit about the product.

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question to the group

    Just attach the wires to the switch, encoder or potentiometer and attach the other wires into the connector on the card. Then you can plug the USB into a computer and windows sees it as a joystick. Program it for whatever function you want either in fs or even better in fsuipc. All there is to it. Encoders do need you to run a simple program once to designate the inputs as encoders. Easy Squeasy.

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question to the group

    Just one more question Reid...I hope I'm not being a pain but this part of it all is really new to me. So I attach a rotary encoder to the board and then you mention I have to run a program to designate the input as an encoder...what is this program? Is it a free download somewhere?

    Thanks for all you help Reid

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Question to the group

    No problem at all! The link to the program is at the bottom of the buo836x product page on Leo's site. It is a free utility.

    Reid
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for fellow builders to go in on a group buy.
    By 737NUT in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 11:24 AM
  2. Creating Social Group
    By Jake 747 400 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-22-2009, 07:48 PM
  3. New Group
    By AndyT in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-13-2008, 11:36 PM
  4. Create your own group with MSN Groups
    By MS Expert Zone RSS Feed in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 11:30 AM