Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Problem with build 484

    I have a major problem with build 484 that I hope you can help me with. I dont even know how to describe it correctly. After installing the latest updates for the boeing suite I have the following problems.

    1. Upon startup of the GC all screens are blank. In order to get a display I need to press the w key. I have tilltes off in the ini and have never started the gc minimized before. Exiting the program and restarting doesnt start in its last position , the screen always starts balnk so I continuosly have to press the w key at each start.

    2. After install it made some adjustments to the positions from gc480, however I can no longer make any adjustments on the active screen. What seems to be happening is there is an active screen and also a de-active screen. Yep 2 screens. However the de-active screen seems to be the one on top. In order to make an adjustment I need to toggle the w key to go between these 2 screens because all adjustments are happening on the screen you cant see which doesnt make any sence so Im constantly going back and fwd making minor adjusments because I cant see exactly what changes Im making.

    3. The quality of the letters are poor, but again cant make any changes to the open gl settings to test as pressing esc brings up the menu on the screen that you cant see. pressing w to bring it the front doesnt work as the keyboard and mouse are still active on the behind screen.

    4. the F3 option does not work, screen is blank. F7 works. In order to make any changes to the display pages I need to press w. So if im currently on the pfd/nd page and I want to go to pfd only I press F1, nothing happens so I need to press w and there it is. Press w again will take me back to the pfd/nd page.

    This has been very frustrating and I do appologize for my description. Its quite hard to put in writing exactly what is happening.

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    46
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with build 484

    Hello Gary,

    can you please e-mail us at support@projectmagenta.com? Can you send a screenshot or photo of what you see?

    Ciao

    Enrico

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with build 484

    Sorry I am a newbie, and I am not in no position to advise, but those things happened to me too -->

    Quote Originally Posted by Garys View Post
    1. Upon startup of the GC all screens are blank. In order to get a display I need to press the w key. I have tilltes off in the ini and have never started the gc minimized before. Exiting the program and restarting doesnt start in its last position , the screen always starts balnk so I continuosly have to press the w key at each start.
    I have exactly the same issues... I found that pressing the "restore down" button (right of the windows minimize button) and after press "maximize" button again, it fixes the problem. Of course you have to do that everytime you startup, and this is fustrating, but I am sure Enrico will fix that very soon.




    Quote Originally Posted by Garys View Post
    2. After install it made some adjustments to the positions from gc480, however I can no longer make any adjustments on the active screen. What seems to be happening is there is an active screen and also a de-active screen. Yep 2 screens. However the de-active screen seems to be the one on top. In order to make an adjustment I need to toggle the w key to go between these 2 screens because all adjustments are happening on the screen you cant see which doesnt make any sence so Im constantly going back and fwd making minor adjusments because I cant see exactly what changes Im making.
    That happened to me too when i tried instead of having maximized the GC, to resize it in the screen. If you maximize the window everything will come in its saved position.




    Quote Originally Posted by Garys View Post
    3. The quality of the letters are poor, but again cant make any changes to the open gl settings to test as pressing esc brings up the menu on the screen that you cant see. pressing w to bring it the front doesnt work as the keyboard and mouse are still active on the behind screen.
    Indeed the quality of the letters is different from the 480 version, but the difference is not big, so I am not sure.




    Quote Originally Posted by Garys View Post
    4. the F3 option does not work, screen is blank. F7 works. In order to make any changes to the display pages I need to press w. So if im currently on the pfd/nd page and I want to go to pfd only I press F1, nothing happens so I need to press w and there it is. Press w again will take me back to the pfd/nd page.
    Try maximizing the GC window

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with build 484

    @ Enrico, I will get that to you later today

    @Nick, Thanks for your reply. Kinda glad in away that Im not the only one. The only problem I have with some of your suggestions is that I have my monitors mounted behind the mip so I cant actually see the windows task bar or where the gc has minimized too. The only workaround Ive found is the w key. The F3 page just doesnt respond to that unfortunately.

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bombay, India VABB
    Posts
    83
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with build 484

    hi garys - if you want to have a look and debug your GC desktop hidden by the bezels, try using

    http://www.realvnc.com/products/free/4.1/index.html

    you can view/control a remote PC desktop with this, from any PC on the network... this should make it easier to troubleshoot your GC screen....

    Hope this helps - not exactly answering your original Q, but it may help....

    fc

  6. #6
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with build 484

    Quote Originally Posted by farrokh747 View Post
    hi garys - if you want to have a look and debug your GC desktop hidden by the bezels, try using

    http://www.realvnc.com/products/free/4.1/index.html

    you can view/control a remote PC desktop with this, from any PC on the network... this should make it easier to troubleshoot your GC screen....

    Hope this helps - not exactly answering your original Q, but it may help....

    fc
    I use the same thing "VNC" it's fantastic. No keyboards or mouse hooked up to other computers, just turn them on and you're ready to go using VNC.

    Matt Olieman

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with build 484

    Excellent suggestion guys, Thankyou. I will give it a try

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with build 484

    UPDATE: All is working well now. Once I could see what was going on and where it was minimizing too it was a quick easy fix. Thanks for your help guys.

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    46
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with build 484

    I still wonder how it got messed up in the first place though. And even re-reading what you wrote I am not able to reproduce it. It is certain it shouldn't happen.

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    511
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with build 484

    Not sure what you meant either about blank screens and minimized, but I can think of two things. One, for blank screens, if you're using PMSystems and you're at cold and dark (CD) state, the screens would be blank. If you shut down PMSystems in that state, it's going to start in that state the next time. So, when you start GC, you'll likely see the screens, but if you start PMSystems afterwards in CD state, they'll go blank.

    Two, here is a sure fire way to know if something is starting minimized or not. Right mouse click on the icon of said program, and then look for properties. In the window, click shortcut tab, now look at Run: What's in the drop down space there?

    It will be Normal Window, Minimized or Maximized. Select either Normal Window or Maximized. This process can be used for any icon on your desktop...

    BSD

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with build 170 (starter switch 1
    By PeterH in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-28-2010, 07:13 AM
  2. Build 472 problem
    By 767300 in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 11:31 AM
  3. build 452 boeing gc problem
    By 767300 in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-13-2007, 03:50 PM
  4. build 452 boeing gc problem
    By 767300 in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-13-2007, 03:50 PM
  5. Re: GC latest build problem
    By JAMES WEBSTER in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 08:34 PM