Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Panel cut to size

    I am looking to have a panel cut to size with some holes punched in it, to house my instruments - Any recommendations please? - I am based in London?

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    62
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Panel cut to size

    Hi,

    Hispapanels will probably do it. It says so at their site. Otherwise Lausitz aviation. Or your local dye maker if you happen to know one... there is Marbus industries in Lisse holland, they lasercut acrylate, steel or plywood but it may be expensive.

    good luck,

    dion

  3. Thanks PlaneSim thanked for this post
  4. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Panel cut to size

    ..thanks for the info Dion. The instruments came from The Netherlands, so I suppose, its only right that I get the panel done there too!

  5. #4
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Panel cut to size

    It may be possible i could sort it for you, if you let me know what you want.

    Cheers
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  6. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Panel cut to size

    ...I have 18 instruments that I want to fit into a dash...

    attached is my best attempt at a drawing!

    Thanks

    Ray

  7. #6
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Panel cut to size

    Hi.

    Have sent you a PM.

    Cheers.

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  8. Thanks PlaneSim thanked for this post
  9. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Panel cut to size

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Jay View Post
    Hi.

    Have sent you a PM.

    Cheers.

    Alex
    I will do!

    Many Thanks for the info...

  10. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    51
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Panel cut to size

    I drew my instrument panel using TurboCAD and sent the drawing to a local avionics shop at the airport who has a cnc machine. They cut the panel in about 20 minutes and charged me about one hour labor.

    Because I could supply a .DXF file they had very little computer work to do.

    Hope this helps.

    Tripacer

  11. Thanks PlaneSim thanked for this post
  12. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Panel cut to size

    Quote Originally Posted by Tripacer View Post
    I drew my instrument panel using TurboCAD and sent the drawing to a local avionics shop at the airport who has a cnc machine. They cut the panel in about 20 minutes and charged me about one hour labor.

    Because I could supply a .DXF file they had very little computer work to do.

    Hope this helps.

    Tripacer
    Brilliant Idea! - Thanks for this..

  13. #10
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Panel cut to size

    I use a program called Visio for all my CAD work, my local cnc firm does the cutting cheaper because the CAD work is already done.
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  14. Thanks PlaneSim thanked for this post
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Help with panel bitmap size
    By nosecone in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-14-2011, 10:43 PM
  2. real size FMC ?
    By makoy in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-25-2009, 05:35 PM
  3. monitor size
    By bravolima in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2007, 03:10 PM
  4. monitor size
    By Mr. Midnight in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-09-2007, 10:52 PM
  5. 777 yoke size
    By null null in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-04-2004, 03:18 PM