Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Atomic_Sheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mounting Korry and Jay-El switches to Panel

    I've been scratching my head about this question for quite some time and I can't seem to figure it out. I've had a look at both Korry and Jay-El manuals and they have diagrams showing the mounting brackets etc but I still don't get how they work i.e. how they are meant to fix in place a switch which is square in shape into a square hole. They slide in, but I don't understand what fixes them in place.

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    128
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Mounting Korry and Jay-El switches to Panel

    The ones I've seen have a housing which has a lip that is slightly larger than the mounting hole, so it doesn't push through.

    Housing pushes in from front of panel. Clip also has a lip and is a sleeve that slides over housing from rear until lip contacts panel rear, at which point the clip latches against housing body.

    Panel is therefore clamped between the housing front lip and the retaining clip lip.

    Cheers,

    Rob

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Mounting Korry and Jay-El switches to Panel

    Korry looks like this


    And when i modify it:


    In the square hole on the side, there comes a pal out when you tighten the screws that hold the latch Korry solid at the back of the panel.
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  4. Thanks Hessel Oosten, Matt Olieman thanked for this post
  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie Atomic_Sheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Mounting Korry and Jay-El switches to Panel

    Thanks guys, much appreciated.

  6. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    128
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Mounting Korry and Jay-El switches to Panel

    You are welcome A_S.

    Thanks for the Photos Claus - Please could you tell me the type number for this Korry.


    Best Regards,

    Rob

  7. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Mounting Korry and Jay-El switches to Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by RadarBob View Post
    You are welcome A_S.

    Thanks for the Photos Claus - Please could you tell me the type number for this Korry.


    Best Regards,

    Rob

    Hi Rob

    This type should be a Korry 433
    http://www.esterline.com/KORRY/Produ...2/Default.aspx
    During my previous work I was lucky to get the old Korry switches which were worn down. They are incredibly expensive.
    I have separated the button and change the front so the text fits my MD 80 project. Both buttons on the images are modified
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  8. Thanks RadarBob thanked for this post
  9. #7
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    128
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Mounting Korry and Jay-El switches to Panel

    Many thanks for the info Claus.

    I have been trying to work out which switch is used on the 737NG Collins Type MCP, and I thought that the Korry you have here looked a lot like it - Particularly the cap style.

    However, I don't think 433 is the one because according to the datasheet it is a 1" indicator - Looking at the spacing between the switches on photos of the Collins, I would say that they are around 3/4".

    If anybody knows the answer, or a good approximation to the original, I would be grateful for any info.

    Best Regards,

    Rob

  10. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Red face Re: Mounting Korry and Jay-El switches to Panel

    Hi Rob
    Sorry, I have misinformed you

    I Have been through my "spare parts" and found out that it is not Korry contacts but "Aerospace optics inc." so check out this website.
    http://www.vivisun.com/
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  11. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    128
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Mounting Korry and Jay-El switches to Panel

    Hi Claus,

    Not to worry - They do look very similar!

    Many thanks for the link - This is not a manufacturer I had previously heard of.

    Looking at the information for the 3/4" version, they look to me to be very similar indeed to the type used on the Collins.

    I don't think that they are the same, because they very usefully have a library of standard legends on the site, and the MCP legends are not there.

    Nevertheless, there are some similar styles there with text in the top half and a window in the bottom, so I think they would make a very good substitute.

    As you say, these are very expensive to buy new so I will look out for some on the used/surplus markets.

    Might have a bit of work to do to get them just right as you have done (nice job by the way!), but for me that's the interesting part.

    Thanks again for your help

    Rob

  12. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie Atomic_Sheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Mounting Korry and Jay-El switches to Panel

    Another question popped up - not related to the thread title... how do the korry switches or any switch of this type actually latch? Korrys have magnetic latching mechanisms? By the sounds of the manual for the Jay-El, I think they are magnetic as well, but how would a magnetic latching mechanism work? I'm having a hard time visualising it. I can't really figure it out from the images that verticallimit posted or the internal diagrams and other videos that I've seen on the topic. I know there's a spring in the equation, but that's about it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Which korry switch/switches does the a320 use?
    By ScottyPcGuy_03 in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-18-2011, 11:55 PM
  2. Mounting Toggle switch to home made panel
    By cmdurney in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 04:57 PM
  3. korry switches.
    By David Withers in forum Interfacing Real Aviation Parts
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 02:39 PM
  4. Making Korry switches and Annunciators
    By Matt Olieman in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-01-2007, 11:04 PM
  5. push switches for mfd autobrake panel?
    By steve diamond in forum CDU/FMS and Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-2007, 08:11 AM