Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rotary Encoder Sluggish Response, and not always correct.

    Hi Nico,

    First of all, hope you had a great Christmas and a great start to the new year.

    I am having problems with my encoders which I have used for the Altimeter.txt.

    The specs are as follows.

    Output .........................2-bit gray code
    Closed Circuit Resistance ......3 ohms maximums
    Contact Rating .................1 mA @ 5 VDC
    Insulation Resistance ..........10 megohms @ 250 VDC
    Dielectric Withstanding Voltage
    Sea Level ......................50 VAC minimum
    Electrical Travel ..............Continuous
    Contact Bounce (15 RPM).........5.0 ms. maximum
    RPM (Operating) ................100 maximum
    Environmental Characteristics
    Operating Temperature Range .....-30 C to +70 C (-22 F to +158 F)
    Storage Temperature Range .......-40 C to +85 C (-40 F to +185 F)
    Humidity.........................MIL-STD-202, Method 103B, Condition B
    Vibration .......................30 G
    Contact Bounce ..................10~55~10 Hz / 1 min. / Amplitude 1.5 mm
    Shock ...........................100 G
    Rotational Life..................30,000 cycles minimum
    Switch Life .....................20,000 cycles minimum
    IP Rating........................IP 40
    Mechanical Characteristics
    Mechanical Angle ................360 continuous
    Running Torque ..................30.6 to 204 g-cm (0.42 to 2.83 oz.-in.)
    Shaft Side Load (Static) ........2.04 kgf (4.5 lbs.) minimum
    Weight ..........................3 gm (0.1 oz.) maximum
    Terminals .......................Printed circuit board terminals
    Terminals .......................Printed circuit board terminals
    Soldering Condition
    Wave Soldering...................Sn95.5/Ag2.8/Cu0.7 solder with no-clean flux: 260 C max. for 3-5 seconds
    Hand Soldering...................Not recommended
    Hardware.........................Konb
    Switch Characteristics
    Switch Type .....................Contact Push ON Momentary SPST
    Power Rating (Resistive Load) ...10 mA at 5 V DC
    Switch Travel....................0.5 +0.4/-0.3 mm
    Switch Actuation Force ..........360 +153/-102 gf (5 +2.1/-1.4 oz.-in.)


    The QNH knob still works better than the Orange Bug (which hardly moves).

    The setting is

    Var 9001 name RO_QNH Link IOCARD_ENCODER Input 21 Aceleration 1 Type 2
    Var 9004 name RO_COrange Link IOCARD_ENCODER Input 45 Aceleration 1 Type 2

    I have tried other ACCELERATION and TYPE settings as well, but to no avail.
    Is my encoder not the correct type? It is a 2 bit encoder anyway.
    I have used it for my TRP panel, and that works and responds way better, although the reading on TRP jumps by 3-4 degrees each incremental turn.

    Hope you can help,

    Thanks,

    Taufeeq

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary Encoder Sluggish Response, and not always correct.

    Hi Taufeeq,

    Thanks and Happy New year too!

    I don't think there is anything wrong with your encoders. The problem is:

    QNH: This function is not in the SDK, so I had to sent single increment /single decrement commands to a FSUIPC offset. This is why it is not so accurate, but it works fine, you can still select any QNH you want.

    Orange Bug: This is even worse, in the SDK there are only single increment and single decrement commands (no increment with a offset). The Orange bug turns, but very slowly. Just have patience. I cannot do much about it. I hope it is solved in the next version of the SDK.

    TRP temp: same problem, only increment/decrement commands in the SDK. But in my sim I'm still able to select any temp I want.

    regards,
    Nico

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary Encoder Sluggish Response, and not always correct.

    Hi Nico,

    Thanks, at least we can incorporate them to the Sim, and at least they work!

    I also downloaded the Fuel display for the LCD, can I use it with a 16X2 LCD display unit?

    Thanks,

    Taufeeq

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary Encoder Sluggish Response, and not always correct.

    Quote Originally Posted by shoumi View Post
    ... can I use it with a 16X2 LCD display unit?
    Only if you forget the fixed letters L C R and T. A 20 x 4 LCD would be a better fit.

    Nico

Similar Threads

  1. Rotary encoder-where and what to buy?
    By shoumi in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 09:48 PM
  2. Rotary encoder/UP DOWN converter
    By junglejet in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 01:32 PM
  3. Turning a Rotary encoder with a pushbutton into a dual rotary encoder
    By snizbatch in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 03:57 AM
  4. 3 Dual Rotary Encoder
    By colaboy in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-13-2009, 06:52 PM