Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question CAE MCDU - mapped Matrix HELP PLEASE?

    Anyone having a CAE MCDU and have mapped the 50 pin connector to the keys, would you please share the Matrix map with me.

    Also, interested in knowing if you lit the keys, how did you do it?

    Thanks,
    Matt Olieman

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    128
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CAE MCDU - mapped Matrix HELP PLEASE?

    Hi Matt,

    Does the CAE MCDU use a Jay-El Keyboard ?

    Rob

  3. #3
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CAE MCDU - mapped Matrix HELP PLEASE?

    Quote Originally Posted by RadarBob View Post
    Hi Matt,

    Does the CAE MCDU use a Jay-El Keyboard ?

    Rob
    I'm assuming you mean a keyboard or a PCB with Jay-El Switches. The answer would be no.

    Also, on a other note, I think I was not clear regarding what I was asking. I need a key to pin configuration, also the lights to pin configuration. Then also how you lit the keys. LED's would have to be mounted internally. Buttons are clear plastic.

    Matt Olieman

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    128
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CAE MCDU - mapped Matrix HELP PLEASE?

    Ah ok Matt,

    I have the matrix/keymap/annunciator/backlight info for the original Jay-El assembly which comprises the keyboard itself and the keyboard and backlighting PCB's.

    The keys are black and operate dome switches on the PCB.

    The connector for this is a rectangular 44 way type.

    So it sounds as if we are not talking about the same beast - Sorry I can't help you with that one, but I wish you luck in finding the info.

    Best Regards,

    Rob

  5. #5
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CAE MCDU - mapped Matrix HELP PLEASE?

    Thanks for the try Rob.

    I hope someone else will come along with some info for me It's my understanding there are quite a few of these around in our group of hobbyist, so hopefully someone can help me.

    Also would like to know what interface you used.

    Matt Olieman

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    128
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CAE MCDU - mapped Matrix HELP PLEASE?

    I haven't actually implemented the interface to the CDU yet.

    The plan is to use Opencockpits USBkeys card.

    I will probably use Michael Delvos's driver for PMDG.

    However, because the OC CDU uses a different matrix, I can't get the same USBKeys codes sent back, so I think I will have to do a translation in SIOC:

    As I recall, the script that is used with the driver is just a couple of lines that reads input keyvalue and then writes it to output variable lastkeypress or something like that - So just need to read my value and substitute the equivalent OC value into lastkeypress I think.

    However, with this route there is currently no means of driving the annunciators.

    I have been meaning to check out what the latest version of ProSim can do on that front - But I haven't got round to it yet.

    Cheers,

    Rob

  7. Thanks Matt Olieman thanked for this post
  8. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Brno
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CAE MCDU - mapped Matrix HELP PLEASE?

    Hello Matt,
    just out of curiosity, what is a CAE MCDU? I am always looking around for a suitable mcdu unit for my sim, but I have never heard of this one. Is it an actual mcdu unit from one of CAE´s sims? If so, how do you go about getting one of those?
    Thanks in advance,

    Michal

  9. #8
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CAE MCDU - mapped Matrix HELP PLEASE?

    @ Michal, the two that I have are CAE FTD MCDU's. The look and feel just like the real thing, except, they are not back lit. All the components are their but the LED's for back-lighting on the PCB board are omitted.

    How to get one of these? Mine were listed here at the classifieds.

    It's my opinion, your better off buying a nice quality one from one of the Flight Sim component vendors. They're usually complete and plug and play. Check with Flight Deck Solutions, Engravity, SISMO, I can go and on

    Matt Olieman

  10. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Brno
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CAE MCDU - mapped Matrix HELP PLEASE?

    Ok, well just thought I would ask... you never know.
    Thanks anyways. In the meantime I have a homemade version working, but it is missing a (realistic looking) panel. Basically it is just a circuit board with buttons and an lcd, it does the job, but doesn´t look very good. But at least it beats a keyboard

Similar Threads

  1. Extremely Confused - Matrix Wiring
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 05-02-2010, 12:37 PM
  2. Matrix with pulse generator
    By smendlik in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-08-2009, 06:18 PM
  3. Any wiring ideas for a matrix!
    By AlexJ in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-13-2009, 12:53 PM
  4. x-keys matrix board question
    By max13 in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-22-2008, 09:39 AM
  5. key matrix
    By kahraman in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-02-2004, 02:58 AM