Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Where to get a completed cockpit from?

    Hi guys,

    Just thought I would ask here about your opinion on where to get complete or semi complete cockpits. In particular the 737ng. I dont think I could solder each switch, annunciator, circuit manually and get everything to work... so I thought I would just buy a completed one. Then I was told I could buy the completed components(overhead, pedestal etc) along with the shell and interior linings, integrate all the components and away I go. Have been looking at the FDS(FLIGHT DECK SOLUTIONS) 737NG which looks nice. I can save around 30% buying all the prebuilt components, liners etc and putting it all together myself which is what I was going to do.

    Then I saw the ones from FSC(FLIGHT SIMULATOR CENTER) and thought they were pretty nice also. So know im here asking for your opinions as to which one has the most reliable electronics and highest quality interior etc.

    Thanks

    Cameron

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get a completed cockpit from?

    Hi Cockpit. I had a look at his site. I do not think the quality of his finished product is what I am looking for. Im only going off the pictures, but from what I can see its not my type. Thanks anyway!

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom, Telford
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get a completed cockpit from?

    Ok No problem

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member Badge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    66
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get a completed cockpit from?

    You will not find a company better than Flightdecksolutions.com for an all in one package they are the leader in the home cockpit industry with service and support that you would expect.
    Michael Badger


  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie verticallimit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmark, Sinding
    Posts
    230
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get a completed cockpit from?

    Try this, maybee it's not sold.
    http://www.737flightsimulator.es/
    Sincerely,

    Claus


  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get a completed cockpit from?

    Hi there,

    Sounds like ill be going with FDS for the cockpit. I MIGHT get the one from FSC also and do a report on the quality of each and then give one to a friend of mine to use and fly online.

    Ok so now I have decided as to the cockpit source, what about Computers. I have been talking to a PC buddy of mine and he is going to look into the best solution for the application. He thinks a dedicated server option is needed as I want the best(and I mean best) graphics in FSX. Im going to want everything on Ultra high settings and with REX, various airport addon scenery packages etc etc. Im not going to buy a $140,000 cockpit just to end up being disappointed with the graphics. My buddy suggests we have the FSX, operating system and various other software on the server and have 1 or 2 other computers to run the cockpit. I think thats what he said. I could be wrong.

    If you know of any system which can run FSX at ultra high settings with rex extra and still have good FPS(60+) LET ME KNOW! Thanks for the help so far. I was going to buy a 2011 camaro 2ss and get it shipped here, but then these came up.....

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get a completed cockpit from?

    Also can someone explain to me the difference between the fsx default planes and one designed for level d simulators? I saw the new PMDG 737NGX is meant to be pretty nice and realistic. But is this simply for those who donot have complete cockpits? Will a default fsx 737 be as real as it gets with a fds cockpit?

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get a completed cockpit from?

    The default FSX does not incorporate VNAV, LNAV, any form of CDU, a functional overhead, a fully-functional Pedestal, and a functional MIP.

  9. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get a completed cockpit from?

    Quote Originally Posted by Boeing 747 Flyer View Post
    The default FSX does not incorporate VNAV, LNAV, any form of CDU, a functional overhead, a fully-functional Pedestal, and a functional MIP.
    Thanks for the quick response! Ok so I assume some sort of software is needed to get these working? Im sorry im a real noob here.

    Or is this dependant on the plane type/addon plane?

  10. #10
    Executive Vice President, Administration, MyCockpit, Inc.
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    287
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get a completed cockpit from?

    You will need softwares like Project Magenta, Sim Avionics, etc to get things together and work along with hardware and FSX
    Regards
    Vybhav


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. B737 MIP completed
    By Westozy in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-12-2010, 02:07 AM
  2. Airbus C of A completed.
    By brianwilliamson in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-31-2009, 04:29 AM
  3. The Avionics Completed!
    By Kennair in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-27-2008, 05:46 AM
  4. Dual yokes completed
    By Kennair in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 05-08-2008, 07:55 PM