Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: A/T Problem

  1. #1
    Executive Vice President, Administration, MyCockpit, Inc.
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    287
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    A/T Problem

    Dear All,

    I own a PM Boeing Suite. From the beginning I have been struggling with A/T specially during landing. When I want to reduce the speed, I notice although I turn the knob to reduce the speed, it only gains speed and this make landing difficult with A/T on. I have this problem with PMDG aircraft (with all panels stripped off) and also with the default B737. I also checked the Auto Pilot Beta in MCP is disabled. I am really not sure what the problem is.

    Previously I had similar problem with Heading, which somehow seems to be better now, not sure how .

    Any help and guidance will be appreciated.

    Regards
    Vybhav
    Regards
    Vybhav


  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A/T Problem

    Hi Vybhav,

    Eventhough I am new to PM, because I had the same problem, I will try to guest.

    Do you have a CDU ? If yes have you seen the settings in the CDU ? Try menu/menu/settings/SPD PROTECT ... this option actually protects the aircraft at low speeds, opens flaps on its own, etc... I have it OFF. If it is ON, turn this option to OFF and try again.

    If it is already OFF, then the most experienced will follow I am sure.

    Hope it is this

    Regards,

  3. #3
    Executive Vice President, Administration, MyCockpit, Inc.
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    287
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A/T Problem

    Thanks Nick. Yes, I do have the CDU and use FlyEngravity Hardware. Checked the SPD Protect, unfortunately for me all the options are "Off"

    Regards
    Vybhav
    Regards
    Vybhav


  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A/T Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by vybhav View Post
    Thanks Nick. Yes, I do have the CDU and use FlyEngravity Hardware. Checked the SPD Protect, unfortunately for me all the options are "Off"

    Regards
    Vybhav
    Sorry for that Vybhav,

    I am sure there must be something easy to fix.


  5. #5
    Executive Vice President, Administration, MyCockpit, Inc.
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    287
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A/T Problem

    Hello,

    Just an update the problem continues, just appears that any stage I have a problem. for instance before take off thought will set A/T speed to V1 but the speed just increases and increases. Also on my online flight from EDDF -EHAM the A/T was 'on' and the ATC asked to reduce speed but I just could not reduce the speed was only increasing.....

    Any help would be great
    Regards
    Vybhav


  6. #6
    Executive Vice President, Administration, MyCockpit, Inc.
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    287
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A/T Problem

    Now there has been some progress. As suggested by Farrokh, I tried to fly the aircraft with the CP Flight MCP powered off and only with the Project Magenta "PM". This time things worked out perfectly. Later I powered the Cp Flight MCP and then noted when I turned the A/T knob anti-clockwise or otherwise the speed only increased. Based on this, I think my problem is not a "PM" problem but more a hardware problem, there seems to be some communication error between CP Flight MCP and PM. I did try using the "Test" function of CP flight and noticed the same problem. Therefore the issue is with CP flight.

    Any idea on how I could resolve this problem?
    Regards
    Vybhav


  7. #7
    Forum Moderator JWS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    490
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A/T Problem

    If hardware issue, don't start unscrewing things yourself. Just contact CPFlight support (Paolo or Claudio) and ask them. Make sure you make a logfile first and send it with your e-mail, so they can see what is happening when you turn the knobs or flip the switches.

    JWS

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A/T Problem

    I couldn't agree more with JWS, I would send this e-mail to Enrico (PM) too

    Quote Originally Posted by vybhav View Post
    Now there has been some progress. As suggested by Farrokh, I tried to fly the aircraft with the CP Flight MCP powered off and only with the Project Magenta "PM". This time things worked out perfectly. Later I powered the Cp Flight MCP and then noted when I turned the A/T knob anti-clockwise or otherwise the speed only increased. Based on this, I think my problem is not a "PM" problem but more a hardware problem, there seems to be some communication error between CP Flight MCP and PM. I did try using the "Test" function of CP flight and noticed the same problem. Therefore the issue is with CP flight.

    Any idea on how I could resolve this problem?
    In fact last night in a visual approach at LGKR, which is a small and airport in a north Greek island, I had the same issues as vybhav when in full flaps and 120 knots speed.... the aircraft could not reduce to 120 knots unless the speed brakes were engadged....

    I am not sure if this case is the same with vybhav, but it sure reminded me this thread...

  9. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sao Paulo - Brazil
    Posts
    20
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: A/T Problem

    As I started to read this thread, I remember having the same prob , most when trying to reduce speed . Ive noticed that speed begins to move back only when I rotate the knob a little back an forth . Im using CPflight MCP as well . I dont know exactly if there is something to do With PM , but it started recently and I have CPflight since the beginning , and was not happening before.

Similar Threads

  1. MCP Problem
    By Norbert Woeller in forum PM Boing MCP
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-29-2010, 11:15 AM
  2. Ias Problem
    By AchillesP in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-16-2008, 02:25 PM
  3. PM FCU Problem
    By imported_darrens in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-09-2005, 07:59 AM
  4. Problem with 3.0.9
    By Chris97b in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-28-2005, 07:10 PM

Tags for this Thread