Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Notebooks as PM clients ?

    Just wondering... has anyone tried this yet ?

    Thanks,


  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict skino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    349
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Notebooks as PM clients ?

    Why not? My PM is fast and stable on a 800 Mhz machine with 32 Mb of onboard graphics and 512 mb ram

  3. Thanks Nick1150 thanked for this post
  4. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Notebooks as PM clients ?

    Well my only concern would be the graphic card as far as resolution is concerned... most notebooks have 1280x600

  5. #4
    300+ Forum Addict skino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    349
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Notebooks as PM clients ?

    I use 1024x768. I am an old man, i need big letters.
    The laptop runs PM CDU and EICAS. In the background is also still running FDC Livecockpit.

  6. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Notebooks as PM clients ?

    Hi there,

    I did a test with GC and my HP-mini-110 notebook today... unfortunately the test gave me a low quality graphics result...

    So I guest notebooks is not the way IMHO

  7. #6
    300+ Forum Addict nax228's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oslo
    Posts
    331
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Notebooks as PM clients ?

    Tough luck.
    Looking towards 3-4 more desktops then i guess...

  8. #7
    300+ Forum Addict skino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    349
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Notebooks as PM clients ?

    Here is a screenshot of my PM (Sim is not running)



    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    The resolution is 1024x768x16

  9. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Notebooks as PM clients ?

    Quote Originally Posted by nax228 View Post
    Tough luck.
    Looking towards 3-4 more desktops then i guess...
    Well,

    I am not decided yet... In fact, I am nowhere near my decision !!!

    The facts are that my 2 Sony Vaio VGN-C1S laptops with the following characteristics are more than enough....

    Sony Vaio VGN-C1S
    Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 (1,66GHz, 667MHz FSB,Intel 945GM Express Chipset, L2 Cache memory 2048Kb)
    2x 512MB DDR2 533 MHz RAM
    100GB 5400rpm SATA
    DVD+-RW (Supporting DVD+-R DL/RAM)
    Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950 128MB (Shared)

    The second fact is that I need a third laptop, preferably the same one as above. We are talking about a more than 3 years old... In eBay the cost something like 100-1500 euro, and most probably this week I will buy a used one for the EICAS

  10. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Notebooks as PM clients ?

    Quote Originally Posted by skino View Post
    Here is a screenshot of my PM (Sim is not running)



    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    The resolution is 1024x768x16
    Yes I know Skino ...

    The notebook problem is not the resolution, but the low speed of the graphics card and the processor... I tried it and the result was 62 in PM glass cockpit rating. Anything above 150 would be acceptable.

  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Notebooks as PM clients ?

    PM runs great on a 6 year old Centrino laptop I have, but rubbish on a 1 year old netbook. I'd have thought given the progress made in the 5 year gap, they'd be similar.

Similar Threads

  1. SIOC server and clients
    By nax228 in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-15-2011, 10:03 AM
  2. How to startup laptop clients that are not reachable ?
    By Nick1150 in forum Project Magenta User Group
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 02:00 PM
  3. Question about controlling clients through server computer via FSUIPC and WideFS
    By Per Alm in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 04:04 AM
  4. Re: Wideserver multi clients
    By Peter Dowson in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2005, 07:52 AM