Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    USA (Williamsburg,Virginia)
    Posts
    36
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Problem with DVATX using SIM-AVIONICS

    Hi All -

    I am having a problem getting DVATX to work with SIM-A. All works fine when using the default FSX 737 MCP. However I cannot get my motorized throttles to work using SIM-A. I did modify the ini defining SIMAVIONICS=1. DVATX connects with FSUIPC OK but the A/T stays disconnected. I am using the CPFlight MCP737PRO with SIM-A. The MCP module is running on the SIM-A server which is a separate computer from FSX.

    Any other SIM-A users out there using DVATX? Any ideas on this would be much appreciated.

    Fred K

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    88
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with DVATX using SIM-AVIONICS

    Hi Fred,

    I have the exact same setup. To setup DVATX you not only need to define SIMAVIONICS=1, but also define the THRUSTREF value in the dvatx.ini file. This offset must equal the offset you define for the THRUST_REF_MODE= value in the sim-a FSUIPC_IO.ini file. Additionally, in the FSUIPC_IO.ini file you need to define offsets for COMMANDED_THROTTLE_L_POSITION= and COMMANDED_THROTTLE_R_POSITION= and match these offsets with the servo offsets in the dvatx.ini file..

    Hope this helps.

    Cheers
    Diego

  3. Thanks Melnato, FredK thanked for this post
  4. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    USA (Williamsburg,Virginia)
    Posts
    36
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with DVATX using SIM-AVIONICS

    Hi Diego -

    Many thanks for your response. I implemented the offset references in the FSUIPC_IO ini and all works like a dream! I am very impressed with how DVATX operates!

    Very best regards,

    Fred

  5. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    146
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with DVATX using SIM-AVIONICS

    Hi Diego,

    could you please tell me where i can donwload DVATX?

    tks
    Peter

  6. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    USA (Williamsburg,Virginia)
    Posts
    36
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with DVATX using SIM-AVIONICS

    Peter -

    Go to Downloads->Administrative->DVATX.

    Fred

  7. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    146
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with DVATX using SIM-AVIONICS

    Tks,
    I have given up trying to get the levers to move in any sensible manner wiht the normal Phidget set up, so will give this one a try
    just to confirm, do i need to run ANY phidget software programmes at all with DVATX?

    And would DVATX work with the following inputs, as this is how its been connected here

    81818 (8/8/
    DIG IN
    0 ENGINE 1 CUTOFF
    1 ENGINE 2 CUTOFF
    2 PARKING BRAKE LEVER
    3 TOGA
    4 AT DISENGAGE

    DIG OUT
    0 PARKING BRAKE
    1 NAVIGATION LIGHT

    ANALOG IN
    0
    1
    2
    ENG 2 REVERSE
    ENG 1 REVERSE
    4 SPOILER HANDLE
    5 ENG 1 THRUST
    6 ENG 2 THRUST
    7 FLAPS

    77219 (0/0/4)
    DIGITAL OUT
    0 ACTIVATE THROTTLES
    1 ACTIVATE SPOILER HANDLES
    2 TRIM UP
    3 TRIM DOWN

    88658 (SERVOS)
    0 THROTTLE LEVER ENG 1
    1 THROTTLE LEVER ENG 2
    2 SPOILER LEVER
    3 TRIM WHEEL


    Tks for any help
    Peter

  8. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    USA (Williamsburg,Virginia)
    Posts
    36
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with DVATX using SIM-AVIONICS

    DVATX works independently of the Phidgets software. Whichever one you execute first will grab the Phidgets main board to the exclusion of the other. So you need only to launch DVATX. There are offset entries that can be modified in the DVATX ini. The software is essentially plug-and-play. Very little modification of the ini is required unless you have a very special case regarding the offsets you are using. Be sure the airlerons offset is set to 0 otherwise you will have uncontrolled flight.

    Fred K

Similar Threads

  1. DVATX with PHIDGETS DC motor - please help me
    By neuman5022 in forum Phidgets Interface & Alan Dyers' FS2Phidget
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2011, 01:04 AM
  2. About DVATX
    By oal331 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-17-2011, 05:27 PM
  3. A/T Airspeed Target Problem Using DVATX with SIM-A
    By FredK in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-21-2010, 10:53 AM
  4. Problem Using DVATX with Phidgets
    By FredK in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-17-2010, 12:39 AM
  5. Avionics Master Switch vs. Avionics Switch???
    By Tomlin in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-08-2008, 10:28 AM