Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Sids/Stars

  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    125
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sids/Stars

    How do I decide which Sid or Star to use?

  2. #2
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level Simon FSC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Fiano Romano, Italy
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sids/Stars

    Hi, normally if you are playing online and the airport is manned by someone, it will be the ATC that will give you the clearance and the SID to follow.
    Same procedure it will be for the STAR if you have an ATC avaiable.

    If no ATC is available, you will decide on your own what SID / STAR to use. Normally choose the one, after obviously having checked the runway in use, that is clooser to your next waypoint.

    Just to give you an idea, if you are flying from Milan to Rome, you will need a SID that makes you go in south direction instead of sending you north into Switzerland

    Ciao
    Simon "Poeta" Giorgi
    FSC - Flight Simulator Center

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    134
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sids/Stars

    That is easy, atc, if not available every route must start on the last point of a sid and end on the first point of a star.

  4. #4
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level Simon FSC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Fiano Romano, Italy
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sids/Stars

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricardo Carvalho View Post
    That is easy, atc, if not available every route must start on the last point of a sid and end on the first point of a star.
    That is true, but it also depends how you plan your flight. Not all programs (for example fsnavigator, vroute etc) create a correct flight plan, so the entry and exit routes are not always correct according to active SIDs or STARS.
    Simon "Poeta" Giorgi
    FSC - Flight Simulator Center

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    134
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sids/Stars

    Quote Originally Posted by Simon FSC View Post
    That is true, but it also depends how you plan your flight. Not all programs (for example fsnavigator, vroute etc) create a correct flight plan, so the entry and exit routes are not always correct according to active SIDs or STARS.
    Vroute has option for real world flight plan, does will always be good flight plans, as of fsnavigator don't even know what that is, my fs navigator is enroute charts plus fmc.

  6. #6
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level Simon FSC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Fiano Romano, Italy
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sids/Stars

    yes but consider that normally they are not real flight plans, they're always inserted by users
    fsnavigator is (or at least was) the most used program in the world after fsuipc

    Ciao
    I see you are 298013 on IVAO, i'm 101501, i'm sligtly older on online flights ahahah
    Simon "Poeta" Giorgi
    FSC - Flight Simulator Center

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    134
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sids/Stars

    Quote Originally Posted by Simon FSC View Post

    Ciao
    I see you are 298013 on IVAO, i'm 101501, i'm sligtly older on online flights ahahah
    Meaning what??

  8. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level Simon FSC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Fiano Romano, Italy
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sids/Stars

    Quote Originally Posted by Ricardo Carvalho View Post
    Meaning what??
    Nothing don't worry, just mean that it may be that you don't know old programs, it's normal
    Things are much easier now.. ages ago people couldn't rely on all the programs and fmc as today
    Simon "Poeta" Giorgi
    FSC - Flight Simulator Center

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    134
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sids/Stars

    Quote Originally Posted by Simon FSC View Post
    Nothing don't worry, just mean that it may be that you don't know old programs, it's normal
    Things are much easier now.. ages ago people couldn't rely on all the programs and fmc as today
    You bet, that is why i started flying vfr then vor/ndb and then modern jets, trust me i just need a needle to fly.

Similar Threads

  1. SIDS and STARS
    By stepbk in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-19-2010, 07:04 AM
  2. using sids,stars with atc IFR
    By spiro in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 10 (FSX)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-14-2009, 03:47 PM
  3. A320 - Problem with SIDs
    By Manuel Sacramento in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 10:17 AM
  4. A320 - Problem with SIDs
    By Manuel Sacramento in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 10:17 AM
  5. SIDs & STARs Update form 2003 ?
    By Baillet Jean-Jacques in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-14-2006, 02:15 PM