Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Drewsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    249
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Pushbutton and toggle switch double action?

    Hi guys, I have just finished wiring up and interfacing some latching pushbuttons and a few toggle switches.

    These are the LED pushbuttons from ebay.
    blackpushled.jpg

    The toggle switch is the standard.

    I interfaced them with Leo Bodnars fantastic BUO386X card and I am using leveld 767. The problem I am having is when I press say the beacon pushbutton to the on position, it latches and the beacon comes on. When I press it again to off, it unlatches and the beacon does not turn off. I have to press the pushbutton again to get it to turn off. So basically I have to double push the button everytime I want it to change from on to off. The toggle switches for the taxi lights is exactly the same? Flick it to on and the taxi light comes on , flick it back and the taxi light remains on. I have to flick it forward again to get it to turn off? I feel a little dumb considering this setup is far from ideal. I'm sure there is something silly I am missing, I'm just not sure what?

    Any help on this one would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance
    Drewsta

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Stafford, UK
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Pushbutton and toggle switch double action?

    If this was interfaced using OpenCockpits I would check your script for the switch type you have assigned. As this is BU0386X I dont know how you have that talking to the LevelD, but if there is something similar I would guess that is it. Sorry im not much help.

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Pushbutton and toggle switch double action?

    Hi,
    Since you're building for the Level-D 767, it would be a lot easier for you to use an Opencockpits master card and my free lekseecon program.
    Nico

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie Drewsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    249
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Pushbutton and toggle switch double action?

    Quote Originally Posted by kiek View Post
    Hi,
    Since you're building for the Level-D 767, it would be a lot easier for you to use an Opencockpits master card and my free lekseecon program.
    Nico
    Hey Nico, I appreciate what your saying and I'm sure it is the best way possible but I don't know much at all about programming. You have around 900 pre defined variables I believe but we still have to write the sioc code right? Its not just a matter of cutting and pasting a few scripts is it? I would love to use the leeksecon program eventually when I have time to learn more about the sioc side of things. For the interim I wanted to use the BUO386x card to see me through.

    Thanks mate
    Drewsta

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Pushbutton and toggle switch double action?

    I think you can program the switch to do this through fsuipc. I am waiting on my BUO card to arrive, so I hope this is the case.
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Pushbutton and toggle switch double action?

    Correct me if I'm wrong but I think you can asign actions to button ON and button OFF using FSUIPC.
    Other solution might be to use a small circuit of relay and capacitor for each toggle so that there is one short signal sent to the board per each flip of a switch rather than having constant on or off signal. I've seen the diagram somewhere but can't recall where at the moment. I'll try to find it and will post it here if I do.

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Pushbutton and toggle switch double action?

    Here is a link to how desktop aviator was recommending people create a "pulse circuit" for toggle switches.

    http://desktopaviator.tripod.com/Art...hes/index3.htm
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie Drewsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    249
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Pushbutton and toggle switch double action?

    Thanks guys, I was hoping that too, I'm going to check it out today, I'll let you know if I find it.

    Drewsta

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie Drewsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    249
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Pushbutton and toggle switch double action?

    Quote Originally Posted by AK Mongo View Post
    Here is a link to how desktop aviator was recommending people create a "pulse circuit" for toggle switches.

    http://desktopaviator.tripod.com/Art...hes/index3.htm
    I would have thought the Buo cards are more advanced and don't need all of that anymore. I'm sure there is an easy solution , I just have to find it.

    Drewsta

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Pushbutton and toggle switch double action?

    I think FSUIPC is your best answer, within the buttons and switches tab.
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Interfacing on-on toggle switch
    By marcus_422 in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-17-2010, 03:29 PM
  2. Toggle switch confusion..
    By NNomad007 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-05-2008, 06:16 PM
  3. double pulse switch
    By aviaparts in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 04:37 PM
  4. Toggle switch covers
    By Westozy in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-31-2007, 01:00 AM