Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member frazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Lan, Sweden
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    DCMotor- and StepperMotor-software problem

    Hi everyone!

    I'm having a really strange problem with the OC DCMotor- and StepperMotor-software that is supplied by OC. Like any other question, I don't get any answers in their forum, so I'm holding my thumbs that someone here might have any idea about the problem.

    I have one DCmotor-card and one StepperMotor-card, both USB, from OC installed on the computer I'm running SIOC on. When running these via the extra application that is supplied (not directly in sioc main program), the motors run fine and I can do all the necessary settings that is not available when just running directly in SIOC.
    The problem is that all the motors, both steppers and dc, stops moving (freezes) after a random time (somewhere between 1 and 30 minutes). If i restart the application, the motors starts again. If I run these motors directly in SIOC main program, this doesn't happen, but then I cant feed negative numbers for the steppers for example.

    Any ideas? I could probably run everything via the SIOC main program if I could get the steppers to go below 0 degrees (now they start going up again if I set them to a value below 0).

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hamburg / Germany
    Posts
    42
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: DCMotor- and StepperMotor-software problem

    Hello Frazer,

    what "extra application" do you mean ? I run my motors directly through SIOC and they work fine (now)

    But now some quick thoughts to your problem..

    - be sure your motors don't use more than 1 Ampere each. That will stop the card !
    - I am not perfect in programming SIOC but maybe it will help to set the negative value by " * -1 " ? or will this just change the direction.

    Cheers, Kai

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member frazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Lan, Sweden
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: DCMotor- and StepperMotor-software problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Schraddel View Post
    what "extra application" do you mean ? I run my motors directly through SIOC and they work fine (now)
    I mean this application: http://www.andare-ing.com/uploads/IOCstepper_02.zip
    It's a separate IOCP-client that works like a bridge between the USB-card and SIOC via the IOCP-protocol. It has more settings for each motor than SIOC itself.

    Quote Originally Posted by Schraddel View Post
    But now some quick thoughts to your problem..

    - be sure your motors don't use more than 1 Ampere each. That will stop the card !
    - I am not perfect in programming SIOC but maybe it will help to set the negative value by " * -1 " ? or will this just change the direction.
    I will check the ampere, thanks for that tip.

    About the negative values, I do like you say, but the stepper motor will just turn and start going clockwise again with values below 0. This is not the case when using the separate software linked to above.

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member frazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Lan, Sweden
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: DCMotor- and StepperMotor-software problem

    Thanks for your reply!

    Quote Originally Posted by Schraddel View Post
    what "extra application" do you mean ? I run my motors directly through SIOC and they work fine (now)
    Here's the application I was talking about:
    http://www.andare-ing.com/uploads/IOCstepper_02.zip

    Quote Originally Posted by Schraddel View Post
    But now some quick thoughts to your problem..

    - be sure your motors don't use more than 1 Ampere each. That will stop the card !
    - I am not perfect in programming SIOC but maybe it will help to set the negative value by " * -1 " ? or will this just change the direction.
    i
    On the ampere-subject, wouldn't the card stop working when running it directly through SIOC then?

    It's when I do negative values, like you suggest, that the motor goes clock-wise again, with values below 0. So first the motor goes CCW when the value decreases, but when the values goes below 0, the motor starts to go CW again instead of continuing CCW as when using the "other" application liked to above.

Similar Threads

  1. New Sim Software?
    By AK Mongo in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-16-2010, 11:33 AM
  2. software
    By bigbore in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-11-2009, 01:48 PM
  3. Problem with 737 Throttle and DCMotor card
    By Simon Schwarzmann in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-02-2009, 11:32 AM
  4. Spring VS DCmotor when the plane turns
    By Lambis777 in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-19-2008, 06:30 PM
  5. The Software is Here !! :)
    By phidgets in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-29-2004, 11:37 AM