Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    727 & DC3 Cockpit Builder skyline223's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    56
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Best software for networking avionics?

    Hey guys,

    What is the best networking program to sync up FSX running on multiple PC's but also sync avionics? (such as GPS and Radios)

    Thanks,

    Will

  2. #2
    727 & DC3 Cockpit Builder skyline223's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    56
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Best software for networking avionics?

    Anybody? Please? I've tried about everything I can think of.. I need some help! Who can help solve the problem?

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bang Lamung/Thailand
    Posts
    46
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Best software for networking avionics?

    Why don't you have look here:

    http://www.wideview.it/wideview.htm
    Erhard in Thailand

  4. #4
    727 & DC3 Cockpit Builder skyline223's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    56
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Best software for networking avionics?

    Wideview is the software that we have been using up to date, but its biggest problem is that it does not network the avionics. The biggest example is that the autopilots are not linked. So for example, our autopilot module is connected to our main computer, but our secondary computer is what displays the instruments. So when we turn the course knob on the autopilot, it does not change the course indicator on the panel. Another example would be the lack of a flight director when the flight director is switched on. Again, another example would be that the radios are not synced, so if we tune a localizer on our Nav 1 radios (connected to the main PC) it does not tune the Nav 1 radios on the secondary PC, resulting in glideslope and directional indicator not responding in anyway to the localizer.

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    48
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Best software for networking avionics?

    Hi,

    IMO, the only solution is to use an independant avionic software that supports networking such as VasFm, SimAvionics, PM, OGS ... The choice depends on the type of aircraft you want to fly and ... your budget.

    Patrick.

  6. #6
    727 & DC3 Cockpit Builder skyline223's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    56
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Best software for networking avionics?

    Well what we have going is a Boeing 727 simulator. The gauges are custom made panel.cfg files that are simply positioned behind the panels on LCD displays via a copy of FSX with Wideview on the secondary computer. So we are trying to find a way to network these gauges to reflect exactly what the gauges would show on the main computer.

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    48
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Best software for networking avionics?

    No so easy, I don't know any "ready made" avionic software for the 727 that work on a network solution.
    You need a tool that allows you to build your own panel. You may have a look at FSXPAND
    http://cockpitsolutions.com/
    I never tried it myself, so cann't recommand it, but it allows to customize gauges and is supposed to function on a network. I believe you can download a demo version.

    Cheers.
    Patrick.

  8. #8
    727 & DC3 Cockpit Builder skyline223's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    56
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Best software for networking avionics?

    Well, I may have to connect our instrument displays to the main computer. Im hoping this wont be too much workload, but I am willing to try anything at this point...

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie


    steveeverson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    228
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Best software for networking avionics?

    Had a similar problem running pmdg which I solved by using the machine with the instrument panels as the master ' avionics' machine and using wideview to feed a slave machine running the visuals. Extra instrument panels (eicas and standbys in.my case ) were run on a third machine with fs expand. Also fsx allows the use of widetraffic so aircraft will show on the visuals slave machine ( useful for vatsim running.on the master )
    Hope that helps
    Steve
    Last edited by steveeverson; 12-02-2010 at 08:26 PM. Reason: spellong misticks
    another bedroom boeing.....

Similar Threads

  1. help! networking
    By nemo_7708 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-09-2011, 08:06 AM
  2. Networking help ?
    By spitfire9 in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-08-2009, 12:50 PM
  3. Sim-avionics new software beta available
    By brynjames in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2009, 08:00 AM
  4. Sim-avionics new software beta available
    By brynjames in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2009, 06:40 AM
  5. Networking FS
    By Ghulam Rabani in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-23-2008, 12:00 PM