Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    oregon
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    potentiometer help

    I am planning to take my CH yoke and turn it into a Cessna 152 portable desktop console. To keep things very simple I would like to use all the same buttons and potentiometers and the same circuit board to get the usb connection. I took it apart and realized the potentiometers still had the same throw from being in the CH config even after calibrating. So I was wondering if that is as far as they will turn and be able to pick up rotary movement? I have heard of FSUIPC, would that be able to override the CH internals to give me rotations anywhere from 180 degrees to say 30 that the computer can see? A free ware program would be nice as i dont know if the whole thing is going to turn out ok.

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: potentiometer help

    Don't know specifically abut those pots, but I know you can plug others that will work into the wiring and they will do just fine. I did that with some slide pots in my TPM controls and replaced the three little levers on top.

    If you can't make the ch pots work, and I suspect you will be able to, less than $20 at Radioshack will buy you three that will.

    Have you tried calibrating them through windows instead of the CH program? Try that and see if you get a different answer.
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: potentiometer help

    CH pots work in a completely different way to how we would generally hook them up to our I/O cards, as the CH pots are wired up differently, you would have to really investigate as to how you will fully interface your portable sim! Good luck!
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

Similar Threads

  1. FSBUS Potentiometer
    By Brodhaq in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-23-2010, 03:06 AM
  2. POTENTIOMETER PROBLEMS!!!!!!!!!
    By manhattan in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 03:47 PM
  3. Choosing a Potentiometer
    By mrcirrus in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-31-2009, 09:34 AM
  4. Potentiometer Problem...need help
    By Michael Carter in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2007, 11:04 PM
  5. potentiometer question
    By David Lee in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 10:33 PM