Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: help ref wiring

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie BishBash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK EGSH
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    help ref wiring

    Hi I have wired all my afds from engravity to my cpflight mip737 board,
    but one which states - To positive 12v-
    Where do i wire this to on the cpflight board.

    Newbie to electronics,

    thanks

    steve

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie BishBash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK EGSH
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: help ref wiring

    Ok, i need to supply the afds with its own 12dc supply.
    I have a spare pc wiwhich i can rob if needed,
    Can anyone tell me how to do this please?

    I managed to wire my first rotary switch today so its a step
    forward in electronics for me.

    thanks

    steve
    Last edited by BishBash; 11-01-2010 at 01:05 PM. Reason: help still required

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: help ref wiring

    hello steve.......
    not sure (from your question) what you need to know.
    who's AFDS is it?
    or do you want to know how to lift 12v from a computer power supply?
    if the latter, then use any yellow (12vdc) and any black (Gnd) coming out
    of the PSU to get the juice you need.
    hope that helped you out matey
    rgds ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie BishBash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK EGSH
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: help ref wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by ian@737ng.co.uk View Post
    hello steve.......
    not sure (from your question) what you need to know.
    who's AFDS is it? Fly engravity
    or do you want to know how to lift 12v from a computer power supply?yes
    if the latter, then use any yellow (12vdc) and any black (Gnd) coming out
    of the PSU to get the juice you need.
    hope that helped you out matey
    rgds ... ian
    Thanks ian,
    I will take a lookat the psu tommorow or would this work

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...96963&T=Module

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: help ref wiring

    If it's an ATX power supply, you need to connect the green wire (pin 14) to ground to switch the unit on. Disconnect from ground to switch it off.

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: help ref wiring

    sorry steve, must have missed the 'engravity'
    re the PSU link...... yes that would do, it's upto 3A, so you should have plenty of
    juice to spare. but my preference would be the computer PSU because it's
    stabilised and short protected.
    have a great day.....

    ian


    Quote Originally Posted by BishBash View Post
    Thanks ian,
    I will take a lookat the psu tommorow or would this work

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...96963&T=Module
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie BishBash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK EGSH
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: help ref wiring

    OK,
    Heres the psu,if anyone can talk me through this in layman terms i will try it.

    View showing cables (six sets)


    Info on psu


    Rear


    Top view


    I am still a novice at electronics but so far have added
    six pack recall
    master caution
    fire warning
    autobrake rotary switch
    And done a few leds last night,autobrake disarm and my 3 greens

    Thanks

    steve

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: help ref wiring

    Hi Steve

    Yellow wires = +12v DC

    Red = +5v DC

    Black = Ground

    1. Put the cover back on.

    2. Always make alterations to wiring with the PSU off and un-plugged until you are happy about working with electronics.

    3. With it safely on the workbench, plug it in and switch it on. Does the fan start to turn? i.e. is it coming on? If yes, proceed to step 5. If not, go to next step.

    4. Put a temporary home-made wire link between the green wire on the biggest connector strip and any black wire. You may need to cut them free of the connector and join them, preferrably with connector strip, but twisting together will work. Does the power supply come alive now, i.e. fan spinning?

    5. Hopefully the PSU is on. Select one of the connectors that has yellow, reds and blacks together, the mid-size ones, I can see 3 in your photo.

    6. If you have a multimeter that measures DC voltage, set it to measure DC voltage and put the red probe to a yellow wire and the black probe to a black wire. Hopefully you'll have around +12v DC, give or take.

    7. Do the same with the red and black wires, you should have approx +5v DC.

    8. If you do, I'd suggest cutting one of the connectors off (WITH THE POWER TURNED OFF) and putting the wires into re-usable connector strip, you know the stuff. Then you can connect your flight sim equipment more easily. Just be sure you get the correct voltage!

    9. You may want to get some small 12v and 5v bulbs from the local electronics shop to practice with first, if you are nervous about connecting those lovely AFDS units! Tell the guy what you want to do with the bulbs and he should give you the correct ones.

    10. Usual disclaimers go in here. If you are unsure about anything, I think you have my number. If not, ask!

    Best of luck

    Sean

    Edit - When cutting wires, cut them one at a time. If you were to cut through a positive and ground at the same time, you'd blow a fuse in the PSU (or the PSU), if it was switched on.
    Last edited by Sean Nixon; 11-02-2010 at 06:26 PM. Reason: Edited step 5 & 8

  9. Thanks BishBash thanked for this post
  10. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie BishBash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK EGSH
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: help ref wiring

    Sean,

    At step 4 but I have no green wire.
    Take a look at my pic 2 info on psu and it tells the colours there,
    what should i be after.

    Thanks

    steve

  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: help ref wiring

    Sorry Steve, typo.

    If the PSU comes on at step 3 proceed to step 5.

    Sean

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Wiring the o/c boards
    By Drewsta in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-17-2009, 01:48 AM
  2. Need a wee bit of help wiring....
    By Crescent in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-13-2009, 02:37 AM
  3. wiring
    By phil. in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-15-2008, 04:38 AM
  4. Easier wiring
    By Lezam in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-22-2008, 12:20 AM
  5. Wiring
    By imported_767300 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-10-2007, 02:46 PM