Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Building Dimensions

    Hello boys and girls
    as this is my first post let me introduce my self
    I am 26 years old and i live in Rhodes Greece
    i am working a computer technician and in the summer i work also as an airline representative (aka dispatcher).
    Also i am a virtual pilot for Transavia.com VA
    After a long research i decided to build a fix based sim of an 737ng as i love that aircraft.
    At this moment of my life there is no free space in my house for the sim but in February i am getting married and i am lucky to get my own home so i am free to build on the roof of my house a building in order to host my sim.

    My question now is how big it should be in order to fit everything
    my goal is an exact copy as 737ng.co.uk as this guy has made a very good job and i admire his work also i am thinking of 3 projectors for the visuals

    I would appreciate if anybody could tell me in length height and width.

    Thanks in advance
    Vangelis Boulasikis

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member flymo001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ashford, Kent, UK
    Posts
    64
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Building Dimensions

    Hello Vangelis,
    Welcome to the world of flight simming, and a warm welcome to the forum.

    I have visited Ian and his sim, and what an inspiration it is.
    For my 737, I have decided to use the diamentions of 2.5m x 2.5m for the base, and 2.0m in height. This does NOT include any extra area for the visuals, as at present I'm using screens.
    You would need to add to the base sizes in width and length when adding projectors.
    There are members on the forum who will be able to give you a better idea of the extra distances needed.
    Hope this helps as a starting point, and wish you as much fun and enjoyment as the rest of us, on building your sim.
    You will never finish it!!!!.......as there is ALWAYS something to add or upgrade!!!

    Once again WELCOME to the forum.

    Regards,

    John P (UK)

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Building Dimensions

    Καλως ήρθες φίλε στο Mycockpit.org

    There are several Greek members here, together with the rest of fine gentlemen here from around the world, who will all warm welcome you soon. The art of building a home cockpit is a process, in which as you will see for your self, deals with many different aspects of building, that is PC hardware, visuals, electronics, switches, wood work, fiber glass, and so many more skills that will arise and will get better as the built process continues... Just remenber that in this forum THERE ARE NO STUPID QUESTIONS and I found that asking is the best way to avoid mistakes.

    As far as the dimensions, there are tons of information by writing "737 cockpit dimensions" on the top right search button of the forum

    Welcome again,

    Best regards,

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Building Dimensions

    I would like to thank everybody for their answers but i would like to clarify my question i am not asking the sim's dimensions but just an advice on the size of the room that is needed to host the simulator because i will build it myself.
    So to avoid to make it to small or too big

    Thanks in advance

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Building Dimensions

    Hi again,

    I didn't realised the question, sorry

    Taking as given that the platform must be about 2 x 2 meters at least and that you need 1 meter or so for the external visuals.... I believe that a room 3 x 3 meters is the optimal minimum space needed, but I have seen sims in less space too. Many also put the cockpit base on the diagonial axis of the room, thus in such a case 2.5 x 2.5 meters could make the job....

    Then of course there are more experienced builders to drop in and say more !!!

Similar Threads

  1. Panel building, focussed on dimensions: *TUTORIAL* uploaded
    By Hessel Oosten in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-30-2011, 10:54 AM
  2. Building Dimensions
    By aizak in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-24-2010, 08:22 AM
  3. Cockpit Building, nah......it's all about Airport Building!
    By AlexJ in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-08-2010, 07:43 AM
  4. Dimensions
    By Mac in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-12-2008, 02:53 AM
  5. 744 TQ dimensions
    By Bobgraag in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-2008, 10:02 AM