Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Potentiometer issue

    Hello,

    I have made some rudder pedals. Now I had a slide potentiometer 100k Ohm. But it was logarithm. So I buyed an linear one. But it was 10k Ohm I didn't think it was a problem. Now I connectit to my pc. And the log. one was from 0-80 on the x-axis. An my 10k linear pot was from 0-14 on the x-axis. Now you can see that the 10k pot isn't as accurate as the 100k one. Is this normal or can I add an 90k resistance or is the 10k just not as accurate as the 100k one?

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    136
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Potentiometer issue

    No ,you cant add additional resistor to your 10k pot

    I would try to calibrate your pedals via payware Fsuipc options

    Regards

    Joseph

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Potentiometer issue

    that doesn't matter the 100k is just more sensitive/accurate. What can i do?

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    48
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Potentiometer issue

    Hi,

    according to me, the value 10k or 100k is not an issue. Did you check the connexions, the soldering, the smooth variation of the pot ? An inexpensive controler (voltmeter, ohmeter) can help you.

    Patrick.

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    136
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Potentiometer issue

    Agree with caKus ,about the value matter--after all the pot is just an voltage devider in this case

    I would again recommed try the the payware Fsuipc calibration option , and pay attention to the slope future witch can improve the accuracy in certain regions
    if that doesnt help-- your pots are defective somehow and try to replace them

    Joseph

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Potentiometer issue

    It looks like you have the pot wired incorrectly. The PC is only seeing half of the pot. 1K, 10K, 100K makes no difference as long as hardware can handle the current increase.

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member Skylane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Potentiometer issue

    The resistance does not matter that much for the pot is connected to +5 V (DC) and 0 V (ground) each at one end (so to speak). The PC (Analog to Digital converter) reads only the voltage from the slider of the pot... so a value between 0 and 5 Volts. The input impedance from the AD converter is so high, no current is flowing into the converter. The only current running is the current from the +5 Volt terminal to the 0 Volt terminal... so in case of a 100K pot 50 micro amps and in case of a 10K pot 500 micro amps.
    However if you have (only once) connected the pot wrong and slided up/down, the pot will be permanentely damaged !!! and needs to be replaced.
    Intel DX58SO, i7_920, 6GB DDR3,
    WD Velociraptor, 9800GTX+, Win7_64

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Potentiometer issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Skylane View Post
    The resistance does not matter that much for the pot is connected to +5 V (DC) and 0 V (ground) each at one end (so to speak). The PC (Analog to Digital converter) reads only the voltage from the slider of the pot... so a value between 0 and 5 Volts. The input impedance from the AD converter is so high, no current is flowing into the converter. The only current running is the current from the +5 Volt terminal to the 0 Volt terminal... so in case of a 100K pot 50 micro amps and in case of a 10K pot 500 micro amps.
    However if you have (only once) connected the pot wrong and slided up/down, the pot will be permanentely damaged !!! and needs to be replaced.
    Strange! When i switched to 1K pots, resolution was fine but the OC card i was using did get a bit hotter during use. I just guessed that less resistance=more current. Back to school for me. lol

Similar Threads

  1. potentiometer help
    By cessnatyler in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2010, 08:08 AM
  2. POTENTIOMETER PROBLEMS!!!!!!!!!
    By manhattan in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 03:47 PM
  3. Choosing a Potentiometer
    By mrcirrus in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-31-2009, 09:34 AM
  4. Potentiometer Problem...need help
    By Michael Carter in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2007, 11:04 PM
  5. potentiometer question
    By David Lee in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 10:33 PM