Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    CTS288 encoders on OC IOCards?

    Hello guys,

    I am building my EFIS set and I have everything already programmed via SIOC and working, EXCEPT the encoders for the MINS and BARO settings.

    I have an Opencockpit USB expansion card with 2 mastercards connected to it. One of the mastercards has an input connector with the encoder card attached to it.

    I just have no idea on how do I wire the encoders to the inputs on the mastercard. On the Opencockpits site it says that if you have CTS288 encoders, you don't even need to use an encoder card and can simply connect the encoders directly to the inputs on the mastercard (it will use 2 inputs per encoder). I am going this route because one less thing to worry about (encoder card), but I have no idea how I would program the encoder via SIOC.

    Can anyone help me out a bit? I'm a quick learner.

    BTW, I didn't even bother to ask on the OC site because I will have to wait weeks for the first reply.
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CTS288 encoders on OC IOCards?

    Hello HondaCop

    Concerning OC & SIOC always remember Niko Kaan:

    http://www.lekseecon.nl/iocards.html#encoder

    As well as this one:
    http://personales.ya.com/micabina737...entosi.htm#cts
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member ran56's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    88
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CTS288 encoders on OC IOCards?

    Hi,
    The encoder has 3 pins.
    2 goes to inputs in the MC and the gnd to the common gnd
    of the same group where you connected the 2 inputs from the encoder.
    The inputs should be consecutive
    The MC can handel encoders, I have 2 MC and bunch of CTS288 and all work well.
    Nico site is very informative as well

    Good luck,
    Ran Finkels
    Former B763 Builder - FS9 Simvionics. LDS, FDS OC etc.

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member frazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Lan, Sweden
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CTS288 encoders on OC IOCards?

    Sorry for "stealing" the thread here, but is there any encoder available that works with the master card that doesn't have a button included? It's for use in an MCP.

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member ran56's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    88
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CTS288 encoders on OC IOCards?

    Don't remember the part no. but the CTS has one with push and one without push
    Like this one
    http://www.flightdecksolutions.com/prod_info.php?id=71
    Ran Finkels
    Former B763 Builder - FS9 Simvionics. LDS, FDS OC etc.

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member frazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Lan, Sweden
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CTS288 encoders on OC IOCards?

    It seems like CTS encoders are very hard to get hold of in Sweden, no reseller in sight. Will an encoder from another manufacturer, with the same specifications, work you think?

Similar Threads

  1. Which knob for the CTS288 encoder?
    By Doon1 in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 10:44 PM
  2. OC master card and CTS288 encoder
    By Jasmckee in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 09:56 AM
  3. Calibrate a CTS288 Rotary Encoder?
    By boris4356 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-19-2010, 03:15 AM
  4. IOCards...
    By gblock in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-16-2009, 01:57 PM
  5. Re: IOCards
    By Rob Archer in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2004, 07:27 PM