Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    PC sound setup ?

    My soundcard is worth on purpose $10. Actualy when I built my PC I didn't know what to put, so I put the cheapest one, just to make it work and maybe put a better in the future.

    My aim now is to have few channels, one for the cockpit sounds, one for the online ATC, one for the MIC, one for the external sounds, and if possible one for big bass woofer that I would like to install below the deck inside the cockpit platform (see pic below) to create vibrations during landing and takeoffs.

    Is that doable ?

    If yes what sound card type i should look for ?

    Thanks

    Nick

    PS. I am totaly new to sounds and sound cards

    Last edited by Nick1150; 09-07-2010 at 07:07 AM. Reason: pic added

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Ronson2k9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London, ON Canada
    Posts
    528
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PC sound setup ?

    Your sound card will convert the sounds into something your speakers will work with. It's after you have the sound coming out that you will need to add. If you want add a Tactile Transducer then you will need some additional equipment. One thing to remember is that if you have an amp as part of your sound card that will do a few things. Both aren't that good. An amp will be great if you want pretty good output without patching that through other equipment. However an amp will also produce heat inside your computer. It can also shorten the life of your sound card should you use it heavily for the same reason. It's better to amplify the sound once it leaves the card.

    A card that has at least 4 ports should do fine. Then you will want to pass that through an amp. This could be a stereo amp or other such device. This will give you better control over the sound especially if you want to add the transducer to it. The amount of power required to do that could be beyond that of your sound card in most cases (hazardous to both card and computer).

    I wouldn't go with the 'cheapest' card either as that may have a given lifespan just from the quality of manufacture. I like soundblaster or Creative Labs equipment but that's just me. They have been doing it ever since computers needed a card .. So they know what they are doing. That said anytime you can get one on sale might be a good time. The requirements of the Flight sim is pretty minimal from a sound producing stand point. Seemingly sound was one thing that wasn't the highest priority when they wrote the code.

    You will need a card with a mic input if you want to do voice ATC (Vatsim/Radar Contact). If you will going to a cockpit setup you may want two sound cards. One for your 'environment' (all sounds not including ATC) and one for ATC alone. This would be connected to your headset. While you can have the sounds coming out of one card you will want to have greater control over those sounds and the best way is two cards. You can always add that later though.

    To start off one card with mic input will do fine. Then an amp for those sounds computer speakers nowadays always have an amp pretty well. You can use your own of course. If a transducer is in there you will need a pretty good amp.

    Tactile Transducer DIY thread

    Tactile Transducer FAQ

    Hope that helps.
    Ron
    Up Up and away in my beautiful my beautiful - Amphibian

  3. Thanks Nick1150 thanked for this post
  4. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PC sound setup ?

    That was a great post Ron,

    I really apreciate it

    Thanks, so two that is eee ?

    Thanks again

    Nick

Similar Threads

  1. FSX system setup for full 737 cockpit setup
    By BBJ737 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 12:25 AM
  2. X-Plane Thunder Sound addon sound pack
    By Padraig in forum General X-Plane (Laminar Research)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 07:24 AM
  3. SIOC SOUND: How to make a looping sound?
    By stabell in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2008, 08:27 PM
  4. MCP AND FS SOUND
    By JAMES WEBSTER in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2005, 10:04 PM
  5. Re: MCP AND FS SOUND
    By David Rabiner in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-31-2005, 05:54 PM