Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    125
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Camera Positions

    I want a forward view, a fixed spot view (of my choosing) and a top down view to be operated by pressing S. Is this possible?
    Last edited by Martin Cumming; 08-18-2010 at 02:50 PM. Reason: spelling

  2. #2
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Camera Positions

    Hi Martin,
    I believe you can adjust the eyepoint position utilizing keystrokes listed in the FS menus, once the new eyepoint has been set, you have to save that flight and reload it to use the same settings. I could be wrong but I remember moving the eyepoint around in the PMDG virtual cockpit once to have a look around more closely. I'm sure someone else will chip in with more info for you soon.

    Regards, Gwyn (Westozy)

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Auburn, WA
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Camera Positions

    (unable to test as I'm not near my FS computer...)
    (Assuming you're using FSX)

    If my memory serves, [s] selects camera categories, [a] cycles through the cameras within the current category. I may have that backwards.

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc526984.aspx

    Try this:
    • Open the CAMERAS.CFG file located in your application data folder
    • Find the [cameradefinition.n] section for each of the cameras you want and make a copy of it, or create new cameradefinition sections from scratch. These new sections MUST have unique GUID. The SDK has a tool to generate valid GUID strings for you to use.
    • In each of the new cameradefinition sections, set Category = Custom
    • Save your CAMERAS.CFG file and start a flight in FSX.


    Once in your flight, you should be able to cycle to the custom cameras with [s], or select one of the "Custom" views from the main menu. Once within that group, you should be able to cycle between them with [a].

    If you try this and it doesn't work, please let me know, I'll try it myself and dig deeper until I figure it out or come to the conclusion that it's not possible.

Similar Threads

  1. Web camera now online 2030 GMT
    By richard hutchinson in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2010, 05:30 PM
  2. 767 flap positions in GC
    By 767300 in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2010, 06:47 PM
  3. Glareshield/MIP Positions
    By RadarBob in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2009, 09:07 AM
  4. Different crew positions FSX
    By Crescent in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-10-2008, 09:11 PM
  5. Removing camera views
    By Martin Cumming in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-08-2007, 02:18 PM