25+ Posting Member
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Building Inexpensive General Purpose Cockpit

WOW! From what I can see on this forum most of you are very dedicated cockpit builders with large investments both in money and time. By contrast I am aiming for a relatively simple, low cost solution.

I posted the following on the "Introduce Yourself" section but got no replies so thought I would try here.

==================

I've been using FS9 (off and on, but not seriously) for a few years. I recently built a new computer for FSX with the aim of getting more serious about the hobby.

Here is what I currently have:
    - FSX Gold (no third-party add ons)
    - Computer (built myself; it has an Intel i5 750 CPU overclocked to 3.8 Ghz, 4 Gb memory, XFX ATI 5770 video card, WD Caviar 1 Tb hard drive, 64 bit Windows 7 Pro)
    - Dell 24 inch 1080p LCD monitor
    - Old 17 inch CRT monitor (for displaying some primary instruments)
    - TrackIR 4 Pro
    - CH Products Yoke
    - CH Products Rudder Pedals
    - CH Products Trottle Quadrant

I would like to build on this setup but as a retiree I don't have a lot of spare cash so I need to spend the money in a way that gives the most return (enjoyment). I am not a purist and I like to fly a variety of aircraft from GA to heavies.

I'm thinking of building a simple shell based loosely on the Roger Dodger Aviation "Universal Airliner" and keyboard modifications. I would also like to try building some switch panels based on Leo Bodnar's BU0836X controller.