Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member Hans Krohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Saving State of pmSystems on exit

    Hi all,

    I am wondering how I can get pmSystems to save the position of all switches and knobs on Exit, so that there is a reasonable chance my cockpit and pmSystems will be in sync when I restart everything the next day...

    I have programmed a routine into my EPIC control program that does the sync upon pressing a button, but pmSystem remembering its previous state would be better.

    Any ideas or comments?
    Thanks in advance,

    Hans
    www.hanskrohn.com

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie PaulEMB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    20 m N of RWY36R LEMD
    Posts
    200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Saving State of pmSystems on exit

    Hi Hans,

    I remember a thread on this, I think in pmsupport forum.
    It has to do with the order the pm programs are loaded, I think, PMsystems first, to allow it to poll the switch positions.

    I am not able to search today, but try the hint
    Paul

    Project ERJ 145
    www.erj145sim.net

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member Hans Krohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Saving State of pmSystems on exit

    Thanks, Paul!
    I am quite sure that pmSystems will not poll an EPIC card. Maybe it does poll phidgets, but not EPIC.

    Maybe I should pass it by PM support and they can include it in an update. Should not be a big thing to program that, imo.

    In the meantime, I will have to stick to my solution of syncing manually.

    Regards,
    Hans

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Saving State of pmSystems on exit

    You can write your own default state of switches when PmSystems starts and so you will always have a "default" startup.
    A default startup is always a safe way to begin a new flight !!

    Regards

    Eddie
    Eddie Armaos
    Athens-Greece


    [

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Saving State of pmSystems on exit

    Hi Eddie

    Could you briefly explain how to do that.

    Thanks.
    Sean

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member Hans Krohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Saving State of pmSystems on exit

    Hi Eddie,

    I am using the cold & dark cockpit option in pmSystems - that also gives me a default state each time I start up -and no need to program anything.

    In the meantime I have polished up my EPIC sync-all routine and it works just beautifully. It even gives me visual feedback on the progress of the sync (for that I use the OM, MM and IM LEDs. They light up one after the other and go off once the sync finished).

    If there is anyone interested in my EPIC code, just let me know and I'll upload it.

    Best regards,
    Hans

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Saving State of pmSystems on exit

    Quote Originally Posted by Sean Nixon View Post
    Could you briefly explain how to do that.
    Thanks.
    Sean
    Sorry but I am away from base, just having a mobile Internet. But you can search in 737 pm files provided with pmsystems for a section named Init
    There you can specifiy the initial state of overhead's switches.

    Hans thanks for sharing your Epic config, but I use Phidgets for ovh leds and Opencockpit for switches.

    Regards from sunny and hot Greece

    Eddie
    Eddie Armaos
    Athens-Greece


    [

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Helsinki - Finland
    Posts
    151
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Saving State of pmSystems on exit

    Hello Hans, I use opencockpits and Airbus so I cannot help You with this issue.
    But I would like to ask why on earth do You start with Cold&dark. This is highly
    unrealistic. Even smallest airports have ground power, at least jetliner capable ones. When pilots arrive the other pilot will perform a walk around and the other
    will perform preliminary cockpit preparation, like checking switch positions, airbus pilots have a special program to load weights etc.
    checking weather,flight data etc. But not powering aircraft, because normally they are always powered when on duty. Do You have a laptop in Your cockpit. I strongly advice You to have one with Navigraph program with all necessary maps. You should also have those as paper.

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Saving State of pmSystems on exit

    Cold & Dark does not mean that there is no Ground Power available.
    With Cold & Dark maybe there is a ground power available, maybe not. Ground power depends on airport's facilities and company's situations (like how many hours/days the aircraft will remain on ground, how much money airport ask to provide ground power etc.)

    BUT.....
    all the aircrafts are normally on Cold & Dark situation, when a new crew arrives and do all the preflight check. When the same crew have a second or third leg to fly, of course they don't live the aircraft cold & dark, but continue from previous flight situation.

    Regards from sunny Athens,
    celebrating today 2500 years from the 1st Marathon and the battle of Marathon
    (http://http://www.athensclassicmarat...hon/fmain.aspx)
    Eddie Armaos
    Athens-Greece


    [

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Helsinki - Finland
    Posts
    151
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Saving State of pmSystems on exit

    Well, this is quite new to me My point was not if ground power is available or not. Usually ground power is plugged when aircraft is at gate and usually when parked. Very seldom AC has a "small power" on, and that mean bare cockpit lights are on, but systems are down. Referring to real life Finnair pilot aircraft is cold&dark 0-2 times/month when pilots arrive in cockpit.
    I wonder if there are major differences with 737 and Airbus of major airline company or low-cost airline company. I read an article years ago that was written by U.S pilot and he stated that sim pilots want to start with cold&dark but this is quite unexpeced in real life. This can happen in some airports with days first flight.
    In this case flight engineer will startup the ac and quite far prepare ac ready for pilots.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Saving mastercard inputs?
    By aVaTar in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-30-2011, 10:07 AM
  2. FSX chrashing on exit?
    By spiro in forum FSX Aircraft Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-25-2009, 05:32 PM
  3. Saving wire on an LED 64
    By Paul G in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-2008, 05:49 AM
  4. Saving routes in cdu
    By Patrick Smith in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-2007, 01:29 AM
  5. Problem saving flightplans to CDU
    By Greg Theulings in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2006, 10:12 AM