Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Power for OC products in USA

    Hello all,

    Just wondering what other folks in USA use to convert our silly 110 to 220 for using OC products or any other overseas products? I have a Radio Shack converter which should work fine but thinking there may be a better solution considering I may end up with more products requiring 220. Does a 'butler bar' converter exist?

    Or is it possible just to buy a new 110 plug that produces 7.5 volts / 3.0 amps and bypass the 220 OC plug altogether?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Power for OC products in USA

    James

    You should not have a problem with OC products as they do not require an AC mains power supply.

    David

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Power for OC products in USA

    Thanks David,

    I have not played with it yet, but i just got a FMC which came with a power plug (220). I assume it's for the monitor piece.

    James

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Power for OC products in USA

    James

    Ok I understand. Yes, you will need to change it for a US power plug that has the same dc output. I have similar problems in reverse when I purchase network switches etc in the US.

    David

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Power for OC products in USA

    Yeah, it's us 'yanks' that are out of sync with our silly 110 power. Oh lets not forget the metric system pretty confuses the **** out of us Anyway, I was thinking I may get other OC products down the road a bit as their quality seems really high. Do you happen to know if the FMC is the only OC product that actually requires power? I'm interested in their auto-pilot and radios for the future.

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Power for OC products in USA

    James

    Some other modules will require a separate power supply, other than a USB feed, an example being the MCP. Also, it is more likely that backlit modules will need a separate power supply - their website will tell you. The simplest way of poweing them is to use an old PC supply. I think I would rather have proper units than metric

    David

Similar Threads

  1. New products coming soon
    By Westozy in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 01-28-2013, 04:49 AM
  2. PC power supply to power Phidgets LED 64
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 04:21 PM
  3. poldragonet products
    By rush1974 in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 10 (FSX)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2010, 02:30 PM