Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Vegas 737NG Cockpit build

    I am literally starting from the beginning. All my research and desision will be posted on my website.

    http://www.Vegas737.com

    To begin, I am testing the three main Simulator programs to see which I want to use for my build. So far FSX is my favorite but I just want to make sure.

    Thanks to some tips from AchilliesP posted on these forums, I seem to have whipped the "Out of Memoery" bug finally.

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Henderson, NV
    Posts
    98
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Vegas 737NG Cockpit build

    Great to see another Vegan in the hobby! My build is about 90% complete (started Feb 2009) and I couldn't be happier with it. If you'd ever like to come check it out, I'd love to have you over... just send me a DM on the forums here.
    Chris Kilroy
    737NG Builder - Henderson, NV USA

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Plano,TX
    Posts
    35
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Vegas 737NG Cockpit build

    Your the guy from Youtube, aren't you? Ckrailvideos, right. It looks like you made alot of progress in a little amount of time.

    Alex

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Henderson, NV
    Posts
    98
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Vegas 737NG Cockpit build

    That's me. I was full bore on the project for a little over a year or so; now I've slowed the pace considerably. Everything I "need" in the sim is there, so inconsequential addons (like audio panels for the pedestal) can wait. The only major component missing from my sim is decent rudder pedals (still using CH pedals mounted to the floor), but those will be installed soon.
    Chris Kilroy
    737NG Builder - Henderson, NV USA

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Plano,TX
    Posts
    35
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Vegas 737NG Cockpit build

    Have you had a look at Revolution-Simproducts Rudder Pedals? They look pretty good. Also what Throttle Quadrant are you using?

    Thanks
    Alex

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Henderson, NV
    Posts
    98
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Vegas 737NG Cockpit build

    Quote Originally Posted by abrinson View Post
    Have you had a look at Revolution-Simproducts Rudder Pedals? They look pretty good. Also what Throttle Quadrant are you using?
    I have... right now I'm waiting to see if FDS' pedals will be able to work with my ACE yokes and their large footprint. The Revolution pedals look great, but the FDS product has a working crank to move the pedals fore and aft, which I really want in my sim!

    As for the TQ, currently using the (piece of crap) FSC motorized TQ, but should have a parcel arriving from Eren at Revolution in the next month with their new TQ!
    Chris Kilroy
    737NG Builder - Henderson, NV USA

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Plano,TX
    Posts
    35
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Vegas 737NG Cockpit build

    I wouldn't say that FSC TQ is crap, but it isn't as good as Revolution's. Your sim looks expensive, but alot of the time that is the way to go in order to have a quality sim. Do you fly on Vatsim, or anything like that?

    Thanks
    Alex

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Henderson, NV
    Posts
    98
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Vegas 737NG Cockpit build

    Quote Originally Posted by abrinson View Post
    I wouldn't say that FSC TQ is crap, but it isn't as good as Revolution's. Your sim looks expensive, but alot of the time that is the way to go in order to have a quality sim. Do you fly on Vatsim, or anything like that?
    I think it's crap for the price. 2200 euros and most of the innards are crappy quality plastic and bands. The motorized part of the speedbrake lever broke some time ago, and about a month ago it stopped working completely. Disassembled the unit to check it out and just wasn't impressed with the quality of the components at all. I've also had some issues with the engines refusing to come out of reverse, etc. I just can't wait to be rid of it.

    Don't fly on VATSIM, but would love to start at some point. Normally I just ignore FS ATC completely (so I can still have my AI) and fly real world routings, flying my own vectors where needed.
    Chris Kilroy
    737NG Builder - Henderson, NV USA

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Plano,TX
    Posts
    35
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Vegas 737NG Cockpit build

    Oh, Wow. I knew there was alot of plastic, but I didn't think it was that bad. I knew it costed more than what it's worth, but I didn't think its that crappy.

    Anyways, VATSIM is really fun. You can file the DEP/ARR and ATC will give you the runway that you land or takeoff from. It is 100% better than default ATC. I always fly real world routes and I think its interesting, and you can actually communicate with other pilots. I started using it a few months ago, but I LOVE it. Also, it does show AI aircraft, but it says VIP on them, I think.

    Thanks
    Alex

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Vegas 737NG Cockpit build

    AI traffic is disabled when you are using a multiplayer session like VATSIM. The VIP traffic is VATSIM users who have not selected an aircarft livery from the extensive list squawkbox offers.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Where to find measurements to build your own 737NG MIP with MDF?
    By darrenw in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-08-2013, 03:20 PM
  2. Hello All, Vegas Here
    By h00t74 in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 03:12 AM
  3. hi! i want to build 737-800NG Cockpit... anyone help me please...
    By xnipher in forum Cockpit Building Tutorials
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-21-2008, 08:01 AM
  4. Flight Deck Solutions or Engravity? 737NG Build
    By olivermbs in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-20-2007, 05:33 PM
  5. My first build - 737NG. Early days!
    By David Rogers in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-26-2007, 06:05 PM