Thread: Aussie here

Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Aussie here

Hi All,

Just joined as I am in the middle of planning out a 747 Simpit...

I've been flying MS simulators since 95, and decided to go up a notch to the PMDG versions last year (I now call default FSX planes "point and shoots" as you simply taxi to the runway, give it flap, give it power and it magically gets in the air, even though you've missed 50 steps of pre-flight checklists). I've now decided to go up another notch and actually build a simpit...

I guess my biggest strength here is I am a software engineer, which means coding solutions and interfaces does not phase me, infact I am halfway through designing an interface for the PMDG 747X software to work with various pieces of hardware.

I'm also not too bad with a soldering iron \ electrical things, and I'm ok with building things (I built the room I'm sitting in now over 2 years ago, and the roof hasn't yet falling in on me)

I've so far spent nearly 3 months working on the plans \ working on the software interface \ researching designs and available hardware \ prototyping ides for the electronics. I'm looking at starting the build proper mid next month.

25th April was the day I started drawing things up, which is why I had a little bit of a laugh seeing one post where the guy was going to knock up a sim over a weekend, and it was then suggested he makes some plans over the weekend instead.

In terms of space I have a 2.5m wide x 2m deep x 2m high area. Not enough for projectors, but TV's and monitors are cheap (enough) so I've worked out how to do things with 4 monitors (and looking at running WidevieW across them with 4 PC's to drive them)

In terms of computing power, I see the need for 8 computers