Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Using aviation headsets on a PC

    I have looked at two local electronic stores and have been unable to find an adapter that will allow me to plug the boom mic cable of my David Clark headsets into my PC's sound card. I have found these http://www.marvgolden.com/headsets/adapters.htm but all I think I need is a cheap 2 or 3 dollar adapter. Any suggestions? Thanks

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Georgetown, Texas
    Posts
    44
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using aviation headsets on a PC

    Take a look at this link. I made one it works great.

    http://www.flightsim.com/main/howto/adapter.htm

    Dave

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie PDT 200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Thomasville, NC
    Posts
    160
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using aviation headsets on a PC

    Go to Aircraft Spruce & Speciality http://www.aircraftspruce.com/ and look under panel jacks. about $3.95. That's what I did long time ago. Took the jacks and mounted them into a panel and then had mini plugs that fit the soundcard come off that and go the the soundcard.
    Regards,
    Brian
    FS9 & FSX ERJ-145, E-170, E-190, PIC737, Archer, Arrow, GF-MCPPRO, EFIS, 4GF-P8, 4GFT8, 3GF-166, 3GF-RP48, GF-LGT, GF-ATC, GF-TQ6, 3 Projectors, 5 monitors 1 computer

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using aviation headsets on a PC

    Thanks guys.

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    116
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using aviation headsets on a PC

    I grabbed a USB box adapter. Works great, and the Telex ANR drowns out the wife and kids

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Auburn, WA
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using aviation headsets on a PC

    A straight-through simple adapter won't cut it, you'll need a circuit to drive the mic.

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveC3 View Post
    Take a look at this link. I made one it works great.

    http://www.flightsim.com/main/howto/adapter.htm

    Dave
    I can confirm that the circuit shown there works great. The audio quality with the DC boom mic through that circuit is orders of magnitude better than any other headset mic I've ever used.

    The battery will last a -long- time, if you remember to unplug your headset when you're not using it. I plan to swap my push-to-talk button with a DPST version and use one side to switch the 9v on and off.

    Aircraftspruce has the plug you need, but if you have a small airport with general aviation repair facilities nearby, I can almost guarantee they'll have them in stock as well.

  7. #7
    Warren fsaviator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Dupont, WA
    Posts
    506
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using aviation headsets on a PC

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveC3 View Post
    Take a look at this link. I made one it works great.

    http://www.flightsim.com/main/howto/adapter.htm

    Dave
    Can someone with some electical knowledge confirm or deny if I can use 12V for this circuit providing I use 835 Ohm's of resistance?

    I want to wire it direct into the 12V I've already got running in the cockpit.

    Thanks,

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie riche543's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    264
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using aviation headsets on a PC

    Im sure you could, if you have a multimetre you can check you have the 9v with the resistor before you connect.
    I have not tried this myself as i do not own an aviation headset , Maybe one day..
    Good luck.......
    Rich..

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma USA
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using aviation headsets on a PC

    Hello...I wanted to toss this out there incase you didn't know about it.
    http://www.fspilotshop.com/product_i...roducts_id=273

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    116
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Using aviation headsets on a PC

    Quote Originally Posted by mattskinner View Post
    Hello...I wanted to toss this out there incase you didn't know about it.
    http://www.fspilotshop.com/product_i...roducts_id=273
    There is a USB version as well.....Also cheaper places to get it from.....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pilot/CoPilot headsets
    By sananona in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 03:34 PM
  2. Dual radios with dual headsets
    By frazer in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-13-2011, 04:40 AM
  3. sound with headsets
    By coppermasonry in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-14-2010, 12:37 PM
  4. Aviation news!
    By AlexJ in forum General Aircraft Operations and News Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-26-2009, 10:13 AM
  5. Captain & 1st officer headsets
    By Daveanne in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-30-2007, 06:28 PM