Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Where to you "hide" your keyboard and mouse ?

    The ultimate simming experience of course is without the need of a keyboard or mouse, but I will not personaly avoid those two for a long time.

    What keyboard and mouse do you use ?
    Where do you hide them to "make it us real as it gets" ?

    Nick


  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to you "hide" your keyboard and mouse ?

    My keyboard sits under the mip on the FO side, i just used drawer runners and a piece of wood cut to size and the keyboard slides away underneath and can be slid out when needed, i did have a small usb keyboard in the overhead before i got the proper one and that worked well too, in fact i liked the keyboard above my head.

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member my737sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    76
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to you "hide" your keyboard and mouse ?


  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to you "hide" your keyboard and mouse ?

    Quote Originally Posted by my737sim View Post
    Hi,

    if I understand correct you mean this ?


  5. #5
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to you "hide" your keyboard and mouse ?

    I have my mouse on top of the glareshield where both pilots can access it and the backlit keyboard is fitted to the overhead!


    Cheers, Gwyn
    www.aerosimsolutions.com.au

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to you "hide" your keyboard and mouse ?

    Great idea Gwyn

    Unfortunately I do not have an overhead yet I was thinking something similar but for the pedestal. A tiny keyboard instead of one of the panels

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    171
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to you "hide" your keyboard and mouse ?

    I've seen twice the most elegant solution i.m.o.

    These builders made in their pedestal a "second (pseudo) audioselector-panel" (comm-box).
    As we all know this second A.S. panel is not needed, there is no support for it.

    So a variety of knobs, buttons can get an alternative legenda nearby them and can be used for the most common simulator specific functions.

    "PAUSE" is the most popular, when there is a "ground call" for diner ....

    Hessel Oosten
    767 Level-D

  8. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to you "hide" your keyboard and mouse ?

    The keyboard has no been decided upon yet - but instead of a mouse I bought a touchpad from ErgoTouchpad.com and will put it in the pedestalbay. The mouse needs some place for motion - a trackball or a touchpad does not. I chose a touchpad as it is easier to conceal as a panel part than a trackball.

    Torben

  9. Thanks Nick1150 thanked for this post
  10. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to you "hide" your keyboard and mouse ?

    Quote Originally Posted by TorbenJA View Post
    The keyboard has no been decided upon yet - but instead of a mouse I bought a touchpad from ErgoTouchpad.com and will put it in the pedestalbay. The mouse needs some place for motion - a trackball or a touchpad does not. I chose a touchpad as it is easier to conceal as a panel part than a trackball.

    Torben
    Just ordered one

    Thanks Torben

  11. #10
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to you "hide" your keyboard and mouse ?

    In order to manage 3 computers using one touchpad and one keyboard I've setup synergy+ to control it. So far I have had no problems using XP pro and Vista.
    see: http://synergy-foss.org/

    Torben

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Real Flight Simulators versus PC "Games" - the eternal debate...
    By ryanf in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-01-2010, 06:32 PM
  2. Fantastic Airshow in Germany "Hahnweide2009"with Spit,B-17,Focke Wulf...
    By Georg Schneider in forum General Aircraft Operations and News Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-07-2009, 04:15 PM
  3. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-05-2008, 12:39 PM
  4. Gwyn Perrett's Article "Creating a glass cockpit display"
    By Matt Olieman in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2007, 08:20 PM
  5. New "Flight Simulator X: Acceleration" Trailer Soars High Into the Sky
    By MS Expert Zone RSS Feed in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2007, 01:51 PM