Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Anyone with triple plasmas ??

    I was wondering if anyone is using 3 plasma insted of projectors for external visualization. We all know that with the price drops in TV prices, one can find great burgains in 50+ inches TVs.

    Anyone ?

    Thanks

    Nick


  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone with triple plasmas ??



    none ehh !!!!

    I should go for projectors then

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone with triple plasmas ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Nick1150 View Post


    none ehh !!!!

    I should go for projectors then
    Probably a better idea, 3 plasmas would surely be more power hungry the only advantage being higher-resolution.

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone with triple plasmas ??

    I have been thinking along the same lines and have posted the question on forums before but without much feedback. I use one projector and I would struggle to have the room for three (long thin room). I have watched the prices of TV screens coming down and I think it could be a better solution - there are however one or two "problems". I first thought in terms of two screens, one for each window but the straight ahead position is blanked by the screen join. Three screens gets over this and gives more peripheral capability. I have stood close to screens in the local shops and realised that HD is essential, large screens normally are viewed from some distance away. I do not think that Triple Head to Go will drive three 1080p HD screens but perhaps that will change. It will drive two at the moment. I don't think that three plasmas will take more power than three projectors?
    I dream of the sharpness that plasma screens will deliver relative to the projectors. I would like to hear from someone who has done it before I shell out 1400 (could try it wilth one first I suppose and if I don't like it then give it to the wife for the lounge!)
    Barry
    www.a320sim.com

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone with triple plasmas ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Barrykensett View Post
    ....... I do not think that Triple Head to Go will drive three 1080p HD screens but perhaps that will change. It will drive two at the moment.........
    Hi Barry, thanks for your answer

    Why do you say that one TH2GO cannot drive 3 for example 50" plasmas ?

    I am just asking... I do not the answer and as you say if TH2GO drives 3 projectors, what is the difference with 3 plasmas ?

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone with triple plasmas ??

    I get that from looking at the specs on http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/pr...?productTabs=1
    Barry
    www.a320sim.com

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone with triple plasmas ??

    Quote Originally Posted by Barrykensett View Post
    I get that from looking at the specs on http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/pr...?productTabs=1
    Barry
    www.a320sim.com
    ok so if I get it right, to connect 3 TVs, each one must have max 1280 x 1024 resolution...

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone with triple plasmas ??

    Yes but from looking at the TV's in the shop we need 1080p (HD) which I think is 1080 x 1920 to get good enough sharpness. The TH2G will only drive two at that resolution if I am understanding it right.
    Barry
    www.a320sim.com

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job Nick1150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    766
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone with triple plasmas ??

    Why it should be HD ?

    For image quality reasons you mean ?

    I suppose three plasmas with 1280 x 1024 each are the maximum resolution a triple projector setup can have. I think 1280x1024 is ok. Of course the enemy of better is the best, so you can always find a better solution, unless you settle with one.

    On the other hand I am not an expert in this, so I am waiting for the more experience simmers to give their thoughts

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone with triple plasmas ??

    I suggest you look closely at the TV's, they are not like PC Monitors of the same resolution, the reason for us considering them is that they are very much cheaper than monitors of equivalent size. I think you will see that HD TV is required to eliminate the ghosting round the image which is not a problem looking across a big room but the sharpness is not good enough for us in my opinion when our noses are so close.
    I am sure that 1280 x 1024 PC monitors will be good and sharp but I think you would end up with smaller screens.
    As I say again look at the TV's in the shop and you will probably see what I mean.
    I would be surpised if the TH2G did not move to higher resolutions before long.
    Barry

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Triple Monitor Set-up
    By mounty in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2010, 03:11 PM
  2. Made triple rotary's (ADF)
    By Hessel Oosten in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 03:15 AM
  3. About Triple Head 2 Go
    By aircanbp in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 12:32 AM
  4. Triple Head to Go Users
    By iwik in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-11-2009, 06:03 AM
  5. Regarding matrox: Triple Head To Go
    By Geremy Britton in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-17-2007, 06:38 PM