Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Jersey Channel Islands
    Posts
    32
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    SIOC 3.7 compile error if no text entered after //

    I have just noticed that if you put the two // for commenting your code and do not
    put any text in after the // then you will get a syntax error when you compile, has anybody else noticed this. I am using SIOC 3.7 This happens on the IF and ELSE command but is not a problem on the Var command. This is the case with Notepad and ConTEXT Editor.

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC 3.7 compile error if no text entered after //

    yes, just don't do that...

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Jersey Channel Islands
    Posts
    32
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC 3.7 compile error if no text entered after //

    Hi Kiek

    The reason I mentioned it is because the code template I supplied for ConTEXT editor inserts the // for you and its up to the user to put their comments after. If they don't then the code will not compile. Just something to be aware of when using the code template.

    Gary

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC 3.7 compile error if no text entered after //

    just don't use the conTEXT editor (i assume you are referring to the GUI interface of config_sioc.exe) .
    Use a simple text editor, such as MS Windows NotePad to write your script and then compile with config_sioc.exe (Import TXT file and Save as .ssi file).

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC 3.7 compile error if no text entered after //

    Hi there,

    Yes even for me (a real SIOC Novice) Notepad seems to be the easiest and safe choice.

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Jersey Channel Islands
    Posts
    32
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC 3.7 compile error if no text entered after //

    Hi Kiek

    No I was not referring to the GUI interface of config_sioc.exe. I was referring to ConTEXT
    editor (previouse post "An alternative to notepad for sioc" dated 07-04-10). As stated in
    my original post this problem will also happen with notepad. I was simply just making
    people aware that if you insert the // you must put some text after it otherwise your
    program will not compile and I'm sure this was not the case in earlier versions of sioc.

    Gary

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC 3.7 compile error if no text entered after //

    do not use ...
    With Notepad you do not have a template that forces a // so you have no problem at all.

Similar Threads

  1. SIOC 3.7B1 and still this Unable to Start IO.SYS service. ERROR code=1275
    By Masterploxis in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-21-2012, 03:59 AM
  2. SIOC AND LEKSEECON: INSTALL ERROR??
    By shoumi in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-16-2010, 04:48 AM
  3. Windows socket error with sioc?
    By bsv118 in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-28-2009, 01:08 PM
  4. Text LCD
    By Andras in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 08:31 AM