Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member jaspar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    scotland
    Posts
    35
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    how do you convert a servo to move past the 180deg stop

    the title says it all im trying to build or convert some instruments to run with open cockpits servo cards and sioc. most instruments have 270deg arc's on them but servos only turn 180deg. Do I just cut of the little tab on the final o/p gear or do i need to do more?


    ta
    Jaspar

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: how do you convert a servo to move past the 180deg stop

    Quote Originally Posted by jaspar View Post
    the title says it all im trying to build or convert some instruments to run with open cockpits servo cards and sioc. most instruments have 270deg arc's on them but servos only turn 180deg. Do I just cut of the little tab on the final o/p gear or do i need to do more?


    ta
    Jaspar
    Go to Servocity.com, buy a gear for the servo and smaller gear to fix to shaft of instrument you are interfacing, allows 360deg travel of gauge with 180deg travel of servo.

  3. #3
    Warren fsaviator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Dupont, WA
    Posts
    506
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: how do you convert a servo to move past the 180deg stop

    Try this link. It's instructions on how to modify an HS-322 servo so you have full rotation.

    http://www.simkits.com/downloads/doc...o%20HS-322.pdf

    Warren

  4. Thanks jaspar thanked for this post
  5. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: how do you convert a servo to move past the 180deg stop

    That mod doesnt work with the stock internal pot, just an FYI

  6. Thanks jaspar thanked for this post
  7. #5
    25+ Posting Member jaspar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    scotland
    Posts
    35
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: how do you convert a servo to move past the 180deg stop

    thanks waren

    I'll try that when I get home as this sounds like the way forwards if i can get continous 360deg rotations to drive an alt etc.

  8. #6
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: how do you convert a servo to move past the 180deg stop

    Just to interject. One of my most frustrating adventure of building a sim is all the wrong advise you can get. But over almost 10 years I've learned to trust a few inexplicably. Rob (737nut) is one of those, he's a servo expert.

  9. Thanks jaspar thanked for this post
  10. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: how do you convert a servo to move past the 180deg stop

    Maybe i need to reiterate here, that mod will make the servo turn CONTINUOUSLY unless you add an external potentiometer like what simkits does when they do that mod. If you notice, you superglue the internal servo pot shaft! You will RUIN your real gauge if you do this mod and hook up your servo. It is very easy using the products from the link i gave you to get 270deg+ movement in a gauge with a standard and unmodified servo. If you do it like i said then apply your slope and intercept math to the software driving the servo, you will get a VERY accurate gauge movement.

    That PDF file is VERY misleading as important info is missing.

  11. #8
    Warren fsaviator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Dupont, WA
    Posts
    506
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: how do you convert a servo to move past the 180deg stop

    Quote Originally Posted by jaspar View Post
    thanks waren

    I'll try that when I get home as this sounds like the way forwards if i can get continous 360deg rotations to drive an alt etc.
    Jasper, not trying to mislead you or anything here... that was a method I used to get 360 degrees rotation as part of my old simkit centered build. If 737NUT advises against it for your build, I'd go with his advise. He's definitely got more experience at this than I do.

    Good luck and let us know how it goes.

    Warren

  12. Thanks jaspar thanked for this post
  13. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: how do you convert a servo to move past the 180deg stop

    Hey Waren, Wasn't trying to step on your toes there. Just wanted to let them know that when doing that mod you have to add some kind of external feedback pot for that to work. Now another option would be using a DC motor card from OC but you still need a feedback pot.
    Happy Simming!
    Rob

  14. #10
    Warren fsaviator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Dupont, WA
    Posts
    506
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: how do you convert a servo to move past the 180deg stop

    No issues Rob. That's why I'm here... to learn. Thanks for setting me straight.

    Warren

Similar Threads

  1. 180 degree servo acts as 90 degress servo
    By ke6jzs in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 06:11 PM
  2. newest part to convert
    By jsfboat in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-24-2010, 01:44 PM
  3. NEED URGENT HELP! 180DEG FOV
    By Nasser in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-16-2010, 07:38 AM
  4. Blast from the Past.
    By Trevor Hale in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-07-2007, 10:10 AM
  5. Maybe I should convert......
    By visualchaosfx in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-02-2007, 05:09 PM