Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    45
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    "Kicking" Servos

    Hello Folks

    I need some help here.

    My TQ is hooked to DVATX + Phidgets 8/8/8 and ServoCard.

    Calibration is OK - all works fine, but everytime I load the power supply for the servo card - the servos "Kick" the handles - some times very erraticly. Lowering the handles back to IDLE and then all works OK.

    Tried several load sequences - but I got the same. Tried to use the Phidgets original power supply with the servo card (I use the 12V from a PSU) - no joy.

    I have normal high torque servos (not Hitech)

    I also use different OFFSTES for the servos and inputs.

    I am currently doing this with the FSX throttle - not with my PM setup. (MCP Etc)

    Is there something I am doing wrong ?

    Cheers


    Isaac

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Kicking" Servos

    Use N1 offset to drive your servo's if you arent already

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    45
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Kicking" Servos

    Thanks -will try this and report back

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Kicking" Servos

    Hi Issac,
    I dont use Phidgetsbut have had that do it to me with Cheap servos. I made a trim position gage with servo supplied from Tower hobbies, their own brand.
    Every time i applied power it would jump to new position.Replaced it with a Futaba or Hitec and these didnt do it.So it maybe servo type.
    Hope thsi helps.
    Les

  5. Thanks neuman5022 thanked for this post
  6. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: "Kicking" Servos

    Guys, hands down, the new hitec micro digitals are the way to go! Fairly cheap, programmable to boot! Small foor print, will fir inside a 2" gauge. Use them and dont look back! Some places you shouldnt try save money!

Similar Threads

  1. Real Flight Simulators versus PC "Games" - the eternal debate...
    By ryanf in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-01-2010, 06:32 PM
  2. Fantastic Airshow in Germany "Hahnweide2009"with Spit,B-17,Focke Wulf...
    By Georg Schneider in forum General Aircraft Operations and News Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-07-2009, 04:15 PM
  3. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-05-2008, 12:39 PM
  4. Gwyn Perrett's Article "Creating a glass cockpit display"
    By Matt Olieman in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2007, 08:20 PM
  5. Bigger servos with "Servo 4-Motor"
    By drit in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-17-2004, 10:31 AM