Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member Crescent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kelowna, British Columbia
    Posts
    139
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Flat Screen Monitors behind instrument panel?

    I was thinking of this: Building the aircraft instrument panel with the holes cut for the instruments. Then take a few flat screen monitors and placing them behind the panel as tight as possible then undocking the instruments to match up. Has anyone tried this? Does it look realistic or no?

    I thought of this as an alternative to building your own (which is fairly nightmarish unless you have an electrical/coding background). Let me know your thoughts. Thanks.

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flat Screen Monitors behind instrument panel?

    many people have done this. This thread: http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...n-progress-MIP has a very good implementation of what you are trying to do. Good Luck!
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Ronson2k9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London, ON Canada
    Posts
    528
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flat Screen Monitors behind instrument panel?

    Instead of undocking you are better off to create a custom panel for your FSX aircraft using FS Panel Studio. You can create a customized panel that both fits your 'template' and is what you want your panel to be (the way you want it to be arranged). When you have done that. As you load up your aircraft you have your panel load up too. NO setting up the panel and undocking and placing it correctly behind your 'template' everything is ready to go as soon as you load up your plane..

    Flight simmers have been doing this for some time now and the advent of LCD monitors made that even more prevalent as you would buy a new monitor (what do you do with the old one.?? well you turn it into your instrument panel of course). Since that time though and the reduction in price of most LCD monitors it's become even better to use them for many obvious reasons.

    - Better resolution
    - Lighter and easier to 'install'

    Best of luck on your build and just take a look at the Photo and Video Gallery for tons of pics on this technique. It's mostly done by us GA pilots out there but the heavies really benefit from it too as most of the real cockpits are 'Glass' these days (LCD panels themselves)...
    Up Up and away in my beautiful my beautiful - Amphibian

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member Jess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Eastern Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    29
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flat Screen Monitors behind instrument panel?

    I have a simple panel for a Bell 206 helicopter, you can see the results if you click on my website below and go about halfway down the page.

    -Jess
    Bell 206 JetRanger Simulator - www.computerrepairs.ca

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member Crescent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kelowna, British Columbia
    Posts
    139
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flat Screen Monitors behind instrument panel?

    Thanks guys for the info. Great projects there. I've decided this is the route to go for sure.

  6. #6
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flat Screen Monitors behind instrument panel?

    ok could somebody explain of how to make a custom panel because something is going wrong all the time i try to
    Somehow the gauges fail to load or there is something wrong with the background bitmap

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member Crescent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kelowna, British Columbia
    Posts
    139
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flat Screen Monitors behind instrument panel?

    I havn't got to that stage yet....probably in the next few weeks I'll start messing with it, but I'm sure someone in here can shed some light.

Similar Threads

  1. MD-82 Instrument panel
    By Joe Cygan in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-08-2010, 10:59 AM
  2. TH2GO vs Large 27" Flat Screen
    By mounty in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-04-2009, 01:22 PM
  3. Flat screen monitors
    By JimmyGerrard in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-14-2008, 01:20 AM
  4. Need Help with 757/767 Instrument Panel
    By DAL900 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-15-2007, 09:47 PM
  5. First instrument panel
    By superconnie in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-15-2007, 02:44 PM