Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member jamcgee1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    prestwick - uk
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cool sim building in lockable outdoor container - anyone done this?

    hi,

    just in the midst of building our 777 sim and am looking at the possibility of continuing the build out of the house as it grows lol! have sourced a few plastic/metal sheds at 11ft by 11ft my concerns obviously would be:

    1. it has to be safe/lockable
    2. it has to be dry

    anybody else done this? its just my good lady gave me the spare room to build but now i feel bad as its seriously gaining weight....

    [B][I]"Life is just a ride" - Bill Hicks Esq.

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie PDT 200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Thomasville, NC
    Posts
    160
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: sim building in lockable outdoor container - anyone done this?

    Don't forget heat and A/C. This is what mine looks like and it can get very hot upstairs from mid spring on and cold as all get out the rest of the time.
    Regards,
    Brian
    [IMG][/IMG]
    FS9 & FSX ERJ-145, E-170, E-190, PIC737, Archer, Arrow, GF-MCPPRO, EFIS, 4GF-P8, 4GFT8, 3GF-166, 3GF-RP48, GF-LGT, GF-ATC, GF-TQ6, 3 Projectors, 5 monitors 1 computer

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie pdpo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    280
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: sim building in lockable outdoor container - anyone done this?

    I have my location ready in the back of the garden. Is a 6m by 3 m heat isolated shed. Still need to move the cockpit since I am rebuilding the cockpit structure first. I am also worried about moving my PCs over there. They will be garded, and bolted down into a closet which gets forced ventilation from below the shed with outside air. I am still looking to install a alarm system and connect it to the silent alarm in the house itself. This will ease my fears a little.
    Greetz Peter
    FS9+PM+AST+opencockpits

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: sim building in lockable outdoor container - anyone done this?

    I considered using a container, they can be easily made nice inside, are generally water tight and have decent locking mechanisms on the doors that can be secured with a padlock but my stumbling point was adequate space/width for a visual system.

    If you are just using monitors or a single projector for a front view then it could work but dont forget a 777 cockpit is seriously wide and a standard shipping container is only 2.44m.

    The other option is possibly using two containers placed in a "T" shape, this would need cutting and welding but is fairly straight forward if you have the space!

    Good luck!

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: sim building in lockable outdoor container - anyone done this?

    There was (is) a member on here with his simulator situated in the back of a box trailer, i remember it was for sale on ebay.
    I dont remember the aircraft type but it was a large passenger jet, the way he had everything arranged in a narrow trailer was pretty well thought out and looked superb, the visuals were good too.

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: sim building in lockable outdoor container - anyone done this?

    Hi,

    I have just rented a garage from my local council for 10 a week, ideal place for the sim at such a small cost! Great for storage too!

    There is no power, but great for building, just leave all your cordless tools in there and charge your batteries at home!
    GA or the Highway!

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member jamcgee1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    prestwick - uk
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: sim building in lockable outdoor container - anyone done this?

    thanks for the replies guys........i have opted for the easier option and switched to the box room for now but may have to look at outside alternate options next year as it gets bigger.

    Am planning on purchasing the FDS hardware in bits over the next few years due cost starting next year. But for now I want to do as much of the work as I can having built the mip/housing and pedestal what would you recommend for the next couple of months? Flooring maybe?

    James
    [B][I]"Life is just a ride" - Bill Hicks Esq.

Similar Threads

  1. Who's building...and what?
    By AlexJ in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 06-24-2012, 12:25 AM
  2. Too hot for building
    By Steve A in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-12-2010, 06:19 AM
  3. Cockpit Building, nah......it's all about Airport Building!
    By AlexJ in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-08-2010, 06:43 AM
  4. Container Strikes Jet Engine
    By AlexJ in forum General Aircraft Operations and News Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-13-2009, 02:55 PM
  5. Building an MCP?
    By Westozy in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-05-2007, 12:28 AM