Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: MCP Power up

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member ktroemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    47
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    MCP Power up

    Hi guys!
    Hope you can help? Have the PM MCP running but it always shows the digits lighted up. Even i swith of the battery master sw on the overhead or the avioncs switch it never gets dark.
    Thats why my CP Flight MCP is always showing some values even the aircraft is shut down already.
    Have tried to change the settings in the mcp.ini but no success. Maybe i changed the wrong values.
    Any idea? Does someone have the same problem?

    Thanks and regards to you all

    Klaus
    B737-700NG Fixed Base Simulator

    Location: LOWW

    - www.projectboeing.com -

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP Power up

    How can we see your website? I'd like to have a look!

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member ktroemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    47
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP Power up

    sorry....but the site is still in progress.

    Klaus
    B737-700NG Fixed Base Simulator

    Location: LOWW

    - www.projectboeing.com -

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP Power up

    Hello Klaus,

    Did you find a solution for this, because I have the same problem as well.

    Thanks, Rob

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member ktroemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    47
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP Power up

    After the last firmware update it is working.
    I found out that there is a sequence how you start the computer to get it work.
    I have the MCP and the PMSystem on a diferent pc.
    If i start them in a different way it is still the same.
    But since the FW update i can get it working just by the right start of the pcs

    I know it doesnt helped you much, sorry.


    Klaus
    B737-700NG Fixed Base Simulator

    Location: LOWW

    - www.projectboeing.com -

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member ktroemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    47
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP Power up

    Hallo Rob!

    I have found a way to solve the problem!
    The last times i did a flight with my SIM it always happenes that the MCP still powers up even when i switched off the battery master switch.
    No i can solve that when i toggle the battery master switch one time.
    So i start the SIM and everything is dark and cold. Then i turn on the battery master switch and check if the trainer and all modules are working. Then i switch off again. Now all modules and the MCP is dark.

    Hope that helped

    Klaus
    B737-700NG Fixed Base Simulator

    Location: LOWW

    - www.projectboeing.com -

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northern Italy
    Posts
    161
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP Power up

    Hello Klaus !
    it looks like you are telling Rob about two/three different ways of solving the problem ... as I have this problem myself.
    The first time it dipended on the pc startup order ... interesting, but what was teh correct order ?
    Then you mentioned firmware update - by the way - my firmware is 3.01, what's yours ?
    Then you say it's enough to "synchronize" things by doing one ON-OFF-ON cycle at the beginning ...

    What's the final conclusion ?
    All three steps necessary or just one, and which one ?

    Thanks and regards,
    Eugenio.
    Happy landings and always three greens !!

    Eu

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member ktroemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    47
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP Power up

    Sorry Eugenio if i made you confused.

    The bottom line for me is that i have to toggle the battery master switch once and then the lights are off.
    My Hardware is connected to th PM MCP and when it starts the Hardeware MCP starts too. Then i have the lights and i need to toggle the battery master switch once on my overhead. Then the lights go off too.
    I think i have the latest firmware on my MCP. Cant tell you now but i got it updated by the manufactor.

    Hope that helps now...

    Klaus
    B737-700NG Fixed Base Simulator

    Location: LOWW

    - www.projectboeing.com -

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northern Italy
    Posts
    161
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Talking Re: MCP Power up

    Okay, much clearer now.
    Then the pc startup order isn't decisive ...
    And - no matter what - the MCP always starts with lighted displays, even if it finds the main battery switch turned off ...
    This surprises me.
    I made it so that the MCP is started only after the rest of PM modules are running. All PFDs go black, but the MCP doesn't !

    I will try with your suggestion, it's not a big deal after all.

    Thanks, happy landings and always three greens ...

    p.s. Do you use AES ? If so, if you ever park at some italian airport, pay attention to the marshaller's voice: it's me !
    Happy landings and always three greens !!

    Eu

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member ktroemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    47
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP Power up

    I always have the battery master switch off on my overhead when i start all the computers. So it seems that is not the issue.
    But even all my monitors are blank, my MCP starts up. Then i toggle the switch on and off again and it is blank too. Maybe it cannot red the offset after starting. But as you said: its not a big deal. In the meantime i use this short startup of my sim to check if everything is running and started. So it is ok for me now

    Sorry that i never heared your voice coz i dont use AES. Never trie it but i think it is nice. You are from italy?

    Happy landings too...thx for the chat

    Klaus
    B737-700NG Fixed Base Simulator

    Location: LOWW

    - www.projectboeing.com -

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. POWER?
    By skyline223 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-09-2012, 05:26 AM
  2. PC power supply to power Phidgets LED 64
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 04:21 PM
  3. PC power Supply
    By BlackWidow in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-25-2007, 11:50 PM
  4. Power On
    By Bob Reed in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-25-2007, 09:51 PM
  5. AC power help
    By 737NUT in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-16-2006, 11:59 PM