Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 72
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member Rockeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Nr Royston UK
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Opencockpits USB servo card

    I recently purchased the above card and have two problems, one being win Xp often does not recognize the card/driver after a power up of the PC, the other being that when I do get it running I cant see how to tell the SOIC which servo to drive.
    I’m fed up trolling through Google searches and the Open cockpit forums only to draw a blank. Has anyone else had this problem or got a solution, before i go mad ? I would also be interested in knowing if any one has based their cockpit on these cards or are they just a royal pain?

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB servo card

    I have 6 overhead gauges working perfectly off this card. Yes, sometimes windows does not recognise the card, however, in my case this was down to only one machine running XP, the Vista machine has no problem. Generally avoid using add-on hubs (the cheap Chinese ones!) and if you continue to have problems recognising the device from Windows then go into Control Panel/Devices/Hardware and remove (de-install) all USB devices and reboot - this often works.

    Telling SIOC which servo to drive is not difficult - it is explained in the friendly manual page 6 on the following link

    http://www.opencockpits.com/uploads/...servos_eng.pdf

    David

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB servo card

    you also need to make sure your SIOC.ini is properly configured for your servo card. They work flawless on my vista machine.

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member Rockeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Nr Royston UK
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB servo card

    I’m please to hear that the card works fine with your o/head gauges as that gives me confidence in the system itself (half the battle).
    I’m not using a USB hub at the moment but I will be sure to take your advice when I make a purchase. The PC is using Windows XP pro with patch 3 installed and will recognise the OC card after numerous reboots and removals of the USB device under the Hardware/USB drivers section of Windows. I then can get the servo to test. However if I shut down the PC I’m back to the device not being recognised.
    I’ve since plugged in the card to another computer running the same version of XP without any problems. So the fault clearly is with my PC.

    Tomorrow I’m back to base where I have an i7 a PC running Win7 so I hopefully will be able to progress a little further.

    Thanks for the help guys

    Bill

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member Rockeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Nr Royston UK
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB servo card

    Built another card today and tests ok with the Windows 7 Pc (64) . Still having problems getting a servo to work as a VSI, guess I’m just thick

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB servo card

    Hi

    Does SIOC see your servo card ie in the top right sioc sign-on box there should be a device number? Does the servo move at all, but not as you would wish? Perhaps you could post your code and outline the problem.

    David

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member Rockeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Nr Royston UK
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB servo card

    Thanks for helping David. I will post in list form to help to keep some order.

    1, I have the following programs downloaded and installed :
    a, Opencockpits SIOC ver 3.7B1
    b, IOCard Servo ver 0.1 Beta
    c, IOCards USB Test ver 0.2 Beta
    d, USBCheck ver 2.0
    e, FSX
    f, Full licensed FSUIP

    2, IOCard USB Test shows:
    a, Device 2276
    b, The servo is connected to Ser-1 and ranges lower=0, Mid point =572, Upper =1023

    3, SIOC
    a, IDX=0-10 Card-USBServo-Device=20

    I presume one of the first things I need to do is tell the operating program that I have this card installed and using position one to drive a servo. It seems that there is already a program written for a VSI (good starting point) in the Config SIOC.

    Any ideas where I go from here? I was up until late last night going through hundreds of Powerpoint slides which don't seem to reflect the current software.

    The other point of confusion at the moment is what programs are required to be running and is there an order in which they should be run?


  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB servo card

    Thanks for the info

    The good news is that you card works under IOcards test. The bad news is that SIOC is not seeing FS and the SIOC script you are using appears incomplete with no reference to the servo.

    The only programmes you need to have running are FSX with FSUIPC and SIOC, if all on the same computer else if you are running SIOC on another computer then you need to run Wideclient on the remote computer. Wideclient provides a network link from a remote computer to FSX on a different computer. Your screen dump of SIOC shows that it is not connected to FSX - not certain why, perhaps you could post your sioc.ini file. Also make sure that your sioc.ini file is ammended to include reference to your servo card - amend the line USBServos=0,0 to USBServos=0,20 to reflect youe card device number.
    With regard to a suitable SIOC script, the example you have posted appears incomplete with no entries for a servo motor.

    Try this example which should move your servo to reflect the plane pitch


    // *****************************************************************************
    // * Config_SIOC ver 3.3 - By Manolo Vélez - www.opencockpits.com
    // *****************************************************************************
    // * FileName : servos.txt
    // * Date : 22/4/2006



    Var 0000, Value 0 // INICIALIZA - Initialization
    {
    V0001 = 511 // servo-motors to center
    }

    Var 0001, Link USB_SERVOS, Output 1, PosL 1, PosC 511, PosR 1023, Type 1 // Pitch

    Var 0010, Link FSUIPC_IN, Offset $0578, Length 4 // PITCH, *360/(65536*65536) CONVERSION
    {
    L0 = V0010 * 8.38E-008 // convert to angle
    IF L0 > 25 // Limit 25 degree Max.
    {
    L0 = 25
    }
    IF L0 < -25 // Limit -25 degree MAx.
    {
    L0 = -25
    }
    L1 = L0 * 20.32 // Calculate degrees for servo
    V0001 = L1 + 511
    }

  9. #9
    10+ Posting Member


    badbill65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB servo card

    Hi Rockeyes ive just bought one of those servo cards and also finding a bit of difficulty in understanding WHATS GOING ON !! HELP

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member Rockeyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Nr Royston UK
    Posts
    58
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits USB servo card

    Quote Originally Posted by badbill65 View Post
    Hi Rockeyes ive just bought one of those servo cards and also finding a bit of difficulty in understanding WHATS GOING ON !! HELP
    Stick in here then chum as we can both learn a thing or two

Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. OpenCockpits Servo Controller Board (with 2 x servos)
    By cjellwood in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-11-2010, 09:36 AM
  2. Servo Motor Card from Opencockpits
    By Oter3 in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2009, 09:42 PM
  3. Servo motor card...interesting
    By barkay in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-2009, 02:51 AM
  4. How many steps does the servo card do?
    By 737NUT in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-13-2008, 10:24 PM