Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Programming in SIOC with Lekseecon?

    Heya everyone,

    I have recently looked into building my own CDU and I have started construction already. Whilst I am pretty okay in terms of the wiring itself, I am more worried about the programming side of things.

    Basically, there are so many things to download. USBKeys Software, IOCP Server, Lekseecon, SIOC... And then there is the even bigger step of actually running them.

    Could you guys just give me an idea of what to run, which order to run them in and how to use them (although the latter is a bigger step I know).

    Also, I have another issue. In the USBKeys manual, it says you must change some lines in some sort of .cfg file somewhere... Something like USBKeys=No or something like that.

    I remember Nico saying I can just run a SIOC script, just changing the "integer values" to what my CDU requires. I have looked at Nico site too - I understand most of it, it is just piecing it all together that is the problem.

    I thank you for your time,

    Jack

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Programming in SIOC with Lekseecon?

    Note: there is no need to install a IOCP Server...

    For the steps to be taken, see second post in this FMC with USBKeys card thread.
    Last edited by kiek; 04-25-2010 at 11:28 AM.

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Programming in SIOC with Lekseecon?

    Nico...

    Thank you VERY much, that post was exactly what I was looking for. Just one question, what does "adjust the sioc.ini file to your configuration" mean? I understand everything else, apart from that one statement.

    Once again, thanks so much, your help is very valuable,

    Jack

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Programming in SIOC with Lekseecon?

    Okay, I've changed it into:
    Open Notepad and create the following sioc.ini file (and put in in the SIOC folder, overwriting the current sioc.ini)

    Note that you already have a sioc.ini file in the SIOC folder, that's what i originally meant with adjust...

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Programming in SIOC with Lekseecon?

    Thanks alot Nico, makes sense for me now. That just about does it then! Thanks alot for your help!

    BTW: Twisted8 mentioned using the "common wire" when wiring the CDU. Is the common wire literally a shared wire than comes off every single terminal leg, and does it only go into one pin?

    Thanks,

    Jack

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Programming in SIOC with Lekseecon?

    I do not use this card so I do not know the details. However, a matrix card does not have one common wire. Assume it is 11 x 8 matrix, then it will have 8 common wires... But I hope twisted8 will step in, and otherwise just study the documentation.

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    243
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Programming in SIOC with Lekseecon?

    hello there
    Nico is right, that's what i meant 1 common wire for each row/column so yeah 8 common wires horizontally and 8 common wires vertically to form the matrix. I'll try to make a diagram for you

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    243
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Programming in SIOC with Lekseecon?

    OK here is a diagram I made, hope this helps. This diagram shows a 4x4 matrix using switches with 2 legs. You would need more or less an 8x8 matrix but you get the idea!


    As you can see you don't run 2 wires to each switch, instead you connect them in a series to the common pin. Yellow dots are the soldering points

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Programming in SIOC with Lekseecon?

    very sorry Twisted8, but could you repost the diagram? It just appears as a Red X on my PC.

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    243
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Programming in SIOC with Lekseecon?

    ah weird. OK let me try again


    Or here is the link http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/d...connection.jpg
    If t hat doesn't work try checking the photo gallery, it's under miscellaneous!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SIOC fault and lekseecon mystery
    By cctflusi in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-07-2010, 03:35 PM
  2. SIOC AND LEKSEECON: INSTALL ERROR??
    By shoumi in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-16-2010, 04:48 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-22-2010, 12:02 PM
  4. sioc programming question: IF..AND..
    By stabell in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-21-2008, 03:14 PM
  5. LEKSEECON: a Level-D 767 to SIOC connector
    By kiek in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-31-2007, 05:35 AM