Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: making g-code

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie flatlandpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Netherlands, Zwolle
    Posts
    152
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    making g-code

    some people ask me for g-code files, maby these pictures may help.
    making youre own g-code is better, panels has to be made "to fit" in the pit.
    And then everybody has his own order and way of working,
    this is just one of them.

    I feel happy nobody is argumenting my weird mix of airbus-style with boeing fastners
    and a phantasy baro-gear panel

    I start with designing everything in one layer

    then splitting them out in an outline:

    one for the bevel

    the holes 4.1 mm deep

    the fastners pocketeted out

    everything that will be 2 mm. deep

    the lightholes for the underplate

    than I export each layer seperatly to mastercam

    set the stock size

    chain everything what will be milled

    select the bit from the library

    look for sure that the tool diameter is correct !

    set the depth cut to 1.5 mm. and make sure that it retracts enough !

    check that it mills on the right side of the holes (so inside !)

    export the gcode

    there we have the g-code


    Software used:
    Windows 7
    Solidworks 2009
    Mastercam X3
    Mach3 for milling
    When once you have tasted flight,
    you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward

  2. Thanks fweinrebe, twisted8 thanked for this post
  3. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: making g-code

    pretty much the same procedure I use, just in BobCad instead of MC. I do use Mach3 as well.

    Buddy

  4. #3
    Have CNC-----will build.
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Leesburg, Florida
    Posts
    203
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: making g-code

    I would rather see the DXF files get posted. This way, they can be resized and modified to the users needs and the GCODE generated to the specific CNC machine. I use CUT2D to do all of my designing and this program generates the proper gcode for Mach 3. I use no other drawing program. One must remember that just about anything can be built by modifying simple circles and squares. CUT2D handles this with ease, just takes a little practice.

    Milt

Similar Threads

  1. Making a new 737 MIP from MDF or something better?
    By SAS541 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 08:04 PM
  2. 747 in the making?????
    By props in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-31-2009, 11:51 PM
  3. How would i go about making my own CDU/FMC
    By Geremy Britton in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 07-11-2009, 03:36 PM
  4. Making headway now...
    By Blog Bot in forum MyCockpit Blog Entry Notifications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2008, 05:02 AM
  5. Making a MCP etc Box
    By Lewis Simmons in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2008, 01:46 PM