Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: FREE PCB'S

  1. #1
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FREE PCB'S

    Hello.

    I have 3 x FSBUS 7 SEGMENT DISPLAY PCB'S which I am giving away.

    I have:

    1 x 4 DIGIT PCB
    2 X 5 DIGIT PCB

    You just need to drill the holes, they are brand new and unused, I now have the OC pcb's as the holes were pre drilled.

    All I ask is that you pay shipping.

    PM me if interested.

    Kind Regards.

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FREE PCB'S

    hi Alex, very generous of you. What system are they for, and are the common anode or common cathode?

    Buddy

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FREE PCB'S

    Duh! It says FSBUS doesn't it?!!

    DOH!

    Buddy

  4. #4
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FREE PCB'S

    I am certain that they are common cathode, I will take a photo of the pcb's....

    Buddy....the drilling of the pcb's scared me so pre drilled was the best option in the end..over to OC I went.

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FREE PCB'S

    Hey, thanks Alex. I have a small drill press for my dremel, and a regular drill press so that would be no prob, just trying to decide if I need anymore!

    Buddy

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FREE PCB'S

    Well it's enough to display a NAV + COM + XPDR if you ever went that route, but Perf Board / Vero Board appears to be everyone's solution at the mo.

    Your brave drilling these pcb's, I think you will need a 0.5mm drill bit....very fiddly!

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FREE PCB'S

    Nah, I use the OC boards too. No sense doing all that wiring when the cards are available. I am actually designing my own display boards right now, soon to have them made I think. I like the OC boards, but I want ot be able to use a single ribbon cable with the IDC header on it to connect them, rather than the 2 seperate connectors on the OC boards. I will have 3,4,5, and 6 digit versions. As soon as the new PCBs arrive for the Igor Plug I will know if I am going to make the displays boards with them. This is the first set of boards I have sent to this company. The price is very very good, so if the boards are ok I will be makeing lots more stuff... I think it's high time we had affordable PCBs for the EFIS and FCU panels, all that hand-wiring gets boring after the first 100 or so wires. An affordable, pre-drilled PCB with backlighting would have been awesome when I started building mine, not to mention more reliable in the long run.

    Buddy

  8. Thanks HansJansen, flatlandpilot, AlexJ thanked for this post
  9. #8
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FREE PCB'S

    Still Available if anyone would like them!

    Kind Regards,

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  10. #9
    75+ Posting Member HansJansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nuenen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    84
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FREE PCB'S

    Quote Originally Posted by Buddym View Post
    Nah, I use the OC boards too. No sense doing all that wiring when the cards are available. I am actually designing my own display boards right now, soon to have them made I think. I like the OC boards, but I want ot be able to use a single ribbon cable with the IDC header on it to connect them, rather than the 2 seperate connectors on the OC boards. I will have 3,4,5, and 6 digit versions. As soon as the new PCBs arrive for the Igor Plug I will know if I am going to make the displays boards with them. This is the first set of boards I have sent to this company. The price is very very good, so if the boards are ok I will be makeing lots more stuff... I think it's high time we had affordable PCBs for the EFIS and FCU panels, all that hand-wiring gets boring after the first 100 or so wires. An affordable, pre-drilled PCB with backlighting would have been awesome when I started building mine, not to mention more reliable in the long run.

    Buddy
    Hi Buddy,

    If you do make these boards, remember to export connections for the decimal points if you can! Up to now, we always have to cut traces on the existing boards and solder an extra wire, which cannot be combined with any connector for the board...

    Regards,
    Hans

  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FREE PCB'S

    Ha! Yes, that was my first though too! I decided to put a dip switch or jumper pins on the board just
    for that purpose, one for each digit. With a little work I think I can even make it with a "dime" switch, which is a miniature rotary switch, where you can select a digit position for the decimal point to appear, or none.

    Buddy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. CNC Free Capacity
    By peterk in forum CNC Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-28-2010, 11:34 AM
  2. Free Fmc
    By QF6228 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-06-2010, 07:44 AM
  3. Making PCB's
    By Wendy in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-02-2010, 10:24 AM
  4. Free Keylogger for mac??
    By siennal in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 07:59 AM
  5. Professional PCB's for the Hispapanels FMC is there demand?
    By capetonian in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-14-2010, 02:48 AM