Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Calibrate a CTS288 Rotary Encoder?

    I have a BU0836X Leo Bodnar card and the encoder software, but all that does is change the pulse width. Is it possible to calibrate a CTS288 Rotary Encoder like you can calibrate an axis pot?
    The encoders work fine, but I can not get any precise accuracy.

    They never end up in the same place on the dial of the gauge they are programmed to. A good example is for cowl flaps. If I turn the dial and stop at a certain point, and then turn again and stop at that same point, the needle is not in the same place.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Calibrate a CTS288 Rotary Encoder?

    Anyone have any ideas on this?

    Bill

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    125
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Calibrate a CTS288 Rotary Encoder?

    Calibrate a CTS288 Rotary Encoder?

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Calibrate a CTS288 Rotary Encoder?

    Right, this is the same response I gave regarding using encoders for selecting things in a different thread. It saves inputs, but dials and pointers don't match after the first few turns.

    Buddy

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Calibrate a CTS288 Rotary Encoder?

    Thanks Guys!

    Bill

Similar Threads

  1. Which knob for the CTS288 encoder?
    By Doon1 in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 10:44 PM
  2. OC master card and CTS288 encoder
    By Jasmckee in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 09:56 AM
  3. Rotary encoder-where and what to buy?
    By shoumi in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 09:48 PM
  4. Turning a Rotary encoder with a pushbutton into a dual rotary encoder
    By snizbatch in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 03:57 AM