Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Help me “Build In” my TV

    MyCockpit..jpgHelp me “Build In” my TV

    I have just today purchased a Sharp 32” LED TV to use as my front view. Connected via a DVI to HDMI cable. As you can see in the photo I have a generic set up (due to space and £ constrictions!!) and at the moment have just plonked the TV on the top shelf.
    Now, using MDF, I would like to “build it in”. What I would like is some ideas on how I should approach this. I could simply build a rectangular box, paint it Boeing gray with a hole cut out for the screen, or maybe slope it down at either side.
    I could also remove the TV from the shelf and wall mount it giving me a few more inches to play with and also to help with viewing distance. Feel I am too close where it is now.
    The shelf measures approx 47” (119cm) by 12”(30cm)
    I know there are many innovative members here so I am just throwing this out there to see what comes up.
    Looking forward to your ideas. In case it is useful I fly the PMDG 737-800 virtually 100% of my simming.
    Thanks in advance.

    Bill
    Bill
    P3D/ IFly737 Pro

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help me “Build In” my TV

    Maybe add 2 smaller lcd monitors either side and rotate them so It looks like that you have a left and right view which would stretch your visual across the entire width of your generic sim, curve the monitors so the the left and right are angled and the tv is straight.

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help me “Build In” my TV

    Alex,
    Thanks for your reply and suggestions but I do not wish to add extra monitors or TH2Go I was just thinking of making it look a little less bare around the outside view.
    Bill
    Bill
    P3D/ IFly737 Pro

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie flatlandpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Netherlands, Zwolle
    Posts
    152
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help me “Build In” my TV

    Maby you can place youre monitor a few inches futher away and one inch lower.
    then I would start closing in the pit with a roof and side-walls.

    the submersion is what counts I think
    being visiual "disconnected" from the room where you are in is a big one.
    (and a cheap one, you can start with a black curtain )
    When once you have tasted flight,
    you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward

Similar Threads

  1. Build 480 Lat/Lon again
    By 767300 in forum PM Boeing FMC/CDU
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-29-2010, 11:52 AM
  2. Please help me build one of these...
    By seedmuse in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-06-2009, 09:35 PM
  3. Build or Buy It?
    By visualchaosfx in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-27-2009, 02:27 AM
  4. Would anyone like to build me an FMP?
    By darrenkarp in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-09-2007, 04:22 AM
  5. Re: Lag with new gc build
    By Anders Eriksson in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-04-2006, 06:41 AM