Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Adding two very simple switches with IO Cards?

    hey everyone,

    I would like to start my first ever building epxerience for my FS with IO Cards. Basically, I'd like to add a "RECALL" and another simple switch to just above my EICAS Panel.

    Now, how would I do this? I'm looking to implement this with the 757 Captain add-on (FSX). Which IO Card would I need to get, how would I need to wire, and what about the coding in SIOC? Will it be a simple script as it is literally only two switches with two positions on each?

    Also, how does power get to the IO Card? I appreciate this is not an easy topic for me, so any help you can give is appreciated! I'm pretty much a beginner in terms of SIOC scripting and IO Cards.

    Thanks very much,

    Jack

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding two very simple switches with IO Cards?

    Hi Jack,

    The OC IOcards and SIOC will be great to begin with. They are a good value and very well supported. The Master Card is the place to start, and I suggest that you use the USB expansion card too. This way the Master Card can plug into the USB expansion card and helps you avoid parallel port compatibility issues. I'm not familiar with the add on you are using, but even if you end up using mouse-trapping to activate your functions it should still work fine. You can probably get this up and and running in one night after work!

    Buddy

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding two very simple switches with IO Cards?

    Okay thanks.

    Sounds good then, I will of coruse need more information but your post has given me something to think about.

    Just to practice, how exactly would I go about (in SIOC) interfacing the OC Transponder "ALT Source" and "XPNDR" switches with the 757 add-on? I know you're not familar with it, but what do I need to look out for?

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding two very simple switches with IO Cards?

    it depends.... if the add-on has it's own FSUIPC offsets, or if it uses the same offsets as the FS internals you have it made.. just reference those offsets in your SIOC script and you're off and running.

    If the add-on doesn't have any offsets then you may be limited to trapping mouse-clicks and/or keyboard keypresses and then triggering via FSUIPC. Maybe someone else here has info on that add-on. Nigel just did a tutorial on mouse trapping so if you go that route then that's a great place to start. Over on Kiek's website theres some awesome tutorials on getting things going with SIOC.

    LINK:

    http://www.lekseecon.nl/sioc.html


    Buddy

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding two very simple switches with IO Cards?

    thanks Buddy for your help.

    First of all, how do I know if this add-on has FSUIPC offsets?
    Then, how would I script those in SIOC (I took a look at Nicos website but still am a bit lost).
    The switches are just two simple ON/OFF switches, that's all.

    Jack

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    243
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding two very simple switches with IO Cards?

    Jack, I would highly recommend switching to the Level-D 767 for now and hopefully their 757 version will come out soon. With the level-D SDK + nico's lekseecon + opencockpit cards you'll have a great platform to build a sim with lots of accessible inputs and outputs. If you really just want those basic buttons then captain sim should be ok. If you can map those buttons to keyboards shortcuts it should be simple enough
    Key generation tutorial for SIOC: http://www.lekseecon.nl/howto.html#keygen

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding two very simple switches with IO Cards?

    Hi there,

    I'm definitely sticking with the CS 757, it should hopefully work.

    To get it to interface, will I need registered FSUIPC? Please remember, I am a complete novice in terms of programming, having never done anything like it before.

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding two very simple switches with IO Cards?

    Hi,

    Yes, for certain get a registered copy of FSUIPC and WideFS too for that matter. There is a discount if you buy both at the same time. WideFS will allow you to run wideserver on your PC where FS is resident and then widefs can run on other PCs and still see all of the variables thast FSUIPC exposes. You may not require the funtionality now, but you probably will in the future, if your cockpit expands past the limits of a single PC.

    I forgot to mention, the OC mastercard does require 5 VDC. The USB expanslion card gets power from the PCs USB port.

    Buddy

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding two very simple switches with IO Cards?

    I looked over the User Manuals for that add-on... I didn't see a key command chart, so I would suppose that there are only mouse clicks for controls. When you are using this plane can you control different cockpit functions with keyboard clicks or only mouse clicks? Looking like mouse trapping.

    Buddy

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding two very simple switches with IO Cards?

    I think it is pretty much mouse trapping. Can mouse trapping work with SIOC, IOCards an Ultimately the Opencockpits Transponder?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. adding stations
    By BlackWidow in forum FSX Aircraft Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2011, 11:04 PM
  2. Planning to start simple - not as simple as I thought!
    By Skylar in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 05:47 AM
  3. Inputs/output cards on master cards question
    By stabell in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-25-2008, 06:25 AM
  4. toggle switches with IO cards and some more questions
    By esa1203 in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-31-2008, 08:05 AM
  5. Cards and Switches for Newbie
    By Holclo in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-26-2007, 04:44 AM