Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Jittery Goflight Rotary Encoders in FS9

    Hi all,

    has anyone seen a problem with Goflight rotary encoders in FS9. Specifically, when assigned functions to tune barometric pressure or heading bug?

    When using the GF-166 to set QNH, I get jumpy behaviour i.e. moving the knob by a fixed number of detents, sometimes results in a large change in the baro setting and sometimes a small change - making the QNH setting jump all over the place.

    The same problem occurs when I try to set the heading bug using my GF-RP48 - the heading bug can jump by 30-40 dergees unless I rotate the knob very slowly.

    thanks,
    Ryan.

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Jittery Goflight Rotary Encoders in FS9

    Sounds like you need to reset the speed in FSUIPC. When you rotate it to allocate a function there are two settings - fast and slow. To get the best out of it turn the rotary slowly first, then allocate whatever action you want, then trun the rotary fast and you will see that another number enters the set up. Re-enter the action. Then do it for the other direction and that should solve your problem.

    Hope this helps

    Rob

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Jittery Goflight Rotary Encoders in FS9

    Hi Rob,

    is this recommendation based on using FSUIPC alone to configure the GF functions ? I currently just use the GF software to assign functions.

    thanks,
    Ryan.

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Jittery Goflight Rotary Encoders in FS9

    Yes this is using FSUIPC. What aircraft are you using? Is it FS9 or FSX? Depending what you are using the modules for, ie, if you are using key strokes vs the drop down menu then you are probably better off using FSUIPC. You can also check with GF and see what they say.

    Rob

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Jittery Goflight Rotary Encoders in FS9

    I found this problem with the default Baron 58 aircraft in FS9.

    The funny thing is that the nav/com radio tuning works perfectly - it's only the Baro & Heading bug functions that display this behaviour.

    All the functions I have assigned to the modules are pretty standard so I had no specific need for this facility in FSUIPC but if it helps with this problem then it is worth it.

    I have tried contacting GF but have not been able to get any reply.

    Thanks for the help Rob.
    /Ryan.

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member Bjarne Horsbøl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Copenhagen Denmark
    Posts
    84
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Jittery Goflight Rotary Encoders in FS9

    Hello Ryan
    I use Goflight 166 and RP48 in FS9 and never had problems.
    I use GF config software (version 1.81 Build 83) and only FSUIPC if GF config can not provide what I want.
    Question for you.. Why use the 166 for QNH setting..?.. 166 is perfect for COM, NAV, ADF and XPDR........
    and RP48 perfect for Heading and baro. settings etc. etc.
    If you like we can try to solve your problem talking via Skype ?

    Regards
    Bjarne

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Jittery Goflight Rotary Encoders in FS9

    Thanks Bjarne - I might just take you up on that offer.

    Actually - I use the GF-46 to set the altimeter baro - not the GF-166 as I had mistakenly said in my previous post. The GF-166 works fine actually.

    I had one hunch as to the cause of the problem. I have recently set my frame-rate to 60 FPS in FS9. It seems to handle it quite well - I have an intel E8400 dual-core overclocked to 3.6 GHz. I had been running FSX on this computer and just could not get decent performance. Anyhow - I wonder if the high frame-rate might be affecting the ability for the Goflight hardware to talk to FS? I presume that it uses FSUIPC which might be getting a bit squeezed by the high FS frame-rates. I'll try reducing the frame-rate as a test to see if it makes any difference. It is strange though that the nav/com radio setting works fine.

Similar Threads

  1. Rotary encoders
    By mondo50m in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-23-2010, 05:50 PM
  2. Rotary Encoders
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 06:04 PM
  3. Rotary Encoders
    By PittsburghLever in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-04-2008, 04:59 AM